R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   what batteries to get? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/65143-what-batteries-get.html)

takwing 03-03-2005 04:56 PM

what batteries to get?

I'm going to buy a B4 and I was wondering what kind of batteries I should get.

I'm just a novice, but is it true that even the fusion batteries last for only 4-5 minutes!? I mean, even my old Tamiya car had 15 minutes of run time.

I'm just a beginner, will 1700mAh Ni-CD or ni-mh 3300 mAh batteries be good for my B4? How many minutes will they last on my buggy?

Jack2 03-03-2005 06:02 PM

ye sound like you want good run time, so if you dont want to spend bid bux but still want good batteries i would recomend intellect 3300 or 3600. you can get em from www.rcstation.com for around $19 US for the 3300's and about $23 for 3600's. they come loose so you will have to have them assembled by someone, or if you are ok with a soldering iron you can do it yourself. you can also purchase pre made stick packs whick are good for bashing around, but not really race quality. these cells are not "matched" but as a begginer you probably wont benifet from matched packs anyway.

hope this helps.

takwing 03-03-2005 06:26 PM

are the 3300 ni-mh? or ni-cd? I heard that ni-cd has better discharge rate and therefore more power, while ni-mh have more capacity but makes the car run slow. Is that true?

BlazinB4 03-03-2005 06:54 PM

anything 3000 and above is NIMH. check out www.sourceracing.com for the best packs you can buy. the have TONS of punch and a HUGE amount of runtime. last weekend, i tqed by over 2 laps in stock, used the same battery for two 5 minute races, and STILL had runtime in it. give 'em a try, you wont be dissapointed

takwing 03-03-2005 07:15 PM

is it true that ni-mh is weaker in terms of power than ni-cd?

cr250 03-04-2005 05:46 AM

takwing 03-04-2005 02:32 PM