Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO) >

TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO)

Like Tree1Likes

TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO)

Old 09-14-2012, 12:00 PM
  #2851  
Suspended
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I just have too say the 22sct is flat out awesome. I have had no issues with my new one what so ever. Never even had a ball cup pop off like I keep hearing about and I have not had to dremel out for the servo arm either. From my experience on my 22sct's is to make sure that the servo is mounted all the way down on the chassis. On my 1st one the steering arm would hit. I noticed a gap between the servo and chassis. I loosed it up, pushed it down and re tightened it up and it gave it the clearance it needed.
RC-1 is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 12:39 PM
  #2852  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

i iam so dum the esc mounts up front by the rx in mid motor saw it in a vid with losi on youtube
vito is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:11 PM
  #2853  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (143)
 
jammnjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 3,817
Trader Rating: 143 (100%+)
Default

servo tape it to the transmission brace or check post 2715 this is what I did
jammnjeff is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 04:15 PM
  #2854  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
rimracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southington CT
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vito View Post
i iam so dum the esc mounts up front by the rx in mid motor saw it in a vid with losi on youtube
I guess if your gonna run it on the street you can mount where ever you want. If you race or jump it you may run into problems, I noticed the mid setup likes to nose down over jumps. I have most of my weight towards the back of the truck and I have to stay on the throttle to level it out.

This is my first Losi/22 and I am pretty certain I have a steering issue. Can anybody tell me about any issues with the rack binding up? I am running a XP 1313 servo, thought I had the right spacer in but now I am not sure. I can't see any place where it might be hitting or binding. Someone mentioned going to the aluminum rack. http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ng-Rack-TLR-22.
rimracker is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 04:19 PM
  #2855  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rimracker View Post
I guess if your gonna run it on the street you can mount where ever you want. If you race or jump it you may run into problems, I noticed the mid setup likes to nose down over jumps. I have most of my weight towards the back of the truck and I have to stay on the throttle to level it out.

This is my first Losi/22 and I am pretty certain I have a steering issue. Can anybody tell me about any issues with the rack binding up? I am running a XP 1313 servo, thought I had the right spacer in but now I am not sure. I can't see any place where it might be hitting or binding. Someone mentioned going to the aluminum rack. http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ng-Rack-TLR-22.
The stock rack does not bind. It will develope some slop faster then some might like but it does not bind up.
Casper is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 04:49 PM
  #2856  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
WIGMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Soo, Michigan
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bobby Z View Post
Looking for place to start on setup for mid motor on carpet track? First time racing SCT last night and it was a handfull!

Iwas getting far too much steering at high speed and rolling over in sweepers and end of straight. Truck was also pushing terribly in the infield at corner entry and middle of turn.

Running Schumcher yellow mini pins all around with Proline closed cell inserts
Trimmed inside and outside row of spikes on front tires.

What kind of carpet are you running on? We run offroad on ozite carpet here and everyone uses Pronline suburbs in the MC compound. Once we start running indoors I will be going to mid motor and hopefully find a good setup.
WIGMAN is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:45 PM
  #2857  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Bobby Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WIGMAN View Post
What kind of carpet are you running on? We run offroad on ozite carpet here and everyone uses Pronline suburbs in the MC compound. Once we start running indoors I will be going to mid motor and hopefully find a good setup.
We run on an ozite like surface but it's not the actual name brand ozite. I was thinking of trying another tire on the front or perhaps wearing in the mini pin fronts.
Bobby Z is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:49 PM
  #2858  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bobby Z View Post
We run on an ozite like surface but it's not the actual name brand ozite. I was thinking of trying another tire on the front or perhaps wearing in the mini pin fronts.
the tracks I run around here that run indoor on carpet require stock tires. We use stock SC10 fronts and HPI Blitz rears. Tons of grip, and relatively cheap to acquire a few sets
godofcable is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:06 PM
  #2859  
Tech Master
iTrader: (230)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,587
Trader Rating: 230 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bobby Z View Post
We run on an ozite like surface but it's not the actual name brand ozite. I was thinking of trying another tire on the front or perhaps wearing in the mini pin fronts.
When we ran sct indoors on carpet we used to run the stock traxxas tire in regular or s1 compound.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:07 PM
  #2860  
Tech Master
iTrader: (230)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,587
Trader Rating: 230 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
The stock rack does not bind. It will develope some slop faster then some might like but it does not bind up.
I was just noticing the excessive slop in the steering rack this evening and we've only been running our trucks for 2 weeks.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:08 PM
  #2861  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

love this kit trying to get the money for a r10 pro esc and 8.5 motor or what trun?
vito is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 08:59 PM
  #2862  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
elecRC23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

8.5 is good
elecRC23 is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 09:00 PM
  #2863  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

thanks. will it run hot?
vito is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 09:28 PM
  #2864  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (124)
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vito View Post
thanks. will it run hot?
maybe
vr6cj is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 09:29 PM
  #2865  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
elecRC23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Not unless you gear it too high. I run it in my buggy and with proper gearing, I can run for 15 minutes and be at 130 with power to spare. but i don't know about the Orion. I have the stock motor and i can gear it really high and put tons of timing and still be at 130.
elecRC23 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.