Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO) >

TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO)

Like Tree1Likes

TLR 22SCT Thread (Check First Page for FAQ & INFO)

Old 08-27-2012, 04:21 PM
  #1651  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by easye View Post
How did you get that piston number? Are you gluing 2 holes shut on a certain piston.
Yes glue two holes closed and then get a 1.5mm drill bit and ream out the other two wholes.
Casper is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:26 PM
  #1652  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by easye View Post
How did you get that piston number? Are you gluing 2 holes shut on a certain piston.
I think the truck would be fairly similiar with the stock 57/55 with the same oils.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:31 PM
  #1653  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jmc23 View Post
Doug they told me they were using the stock set up at the sc nats. After this weekend I'm ready to sell it. Well actually it's listed. Haven't really got much help from losi.
Hell, I say good riddance. I'm surprised you didn't complain about having to put it together, too. Do you want Losi to come drive your truck for you, too? Post your next race date, I'm sure they'll oblige.
blurredvision is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:39 PM
  #1654  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

can someone "simply" explain why you would run thinner oil in the front, my xxx i ran much thicker oil in the front than in the rear? It would also help if you typed slowly lol
motobigalow is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:41 PM
  #1655  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
easye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 885
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Yes glue two holes closed and then get a 1.5mm drill bit and ream out the other two wholes.
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
I think the truck would be fairly similiar with the stock 57/55 with the same oils.
Thanks guys.. Any idea when the sway bars a going to available?
easye is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:50 PM
  #1656  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
WIGMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Soo, Michigan
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
It was not weither it was good or bad just curious who is inlcuding long ESC wires! LOL

I needed the small adapter. I was pretty close with my tekin RS but not going to get there. Filling in my memory bank of those that can reach! Thanks!
Casper I use a Novak Havoc Pro SC and the wire is long enough to route around battery and up to the receiver, I am thinking about adding a short extention though just to make it look a little cleaner.
WIGMAN is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:55 PM
  #1657  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by motobigalow View Post
can someone "simply" explain why you would run thinner oil in the front, my xxx i ran much thicker oil in the front than in the rear? It would also help if you typed slowly lol
Its not so much that the oil is thinner in the front. It has to do with the overall pacakge of oil and piston hole size. The front piston hole we run is smaller on this truck to slow the reaction more.

Originally Posted by easye View Post
Thanks guys.. Any idea when the sway bars a going to available?
This is hard to say as we need to include a manual and thus we are required to run it through all the required channels. We are trying to get it out as fast as we can.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:58 PM
  #1658  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

gotcha thanks, So with the 37 1/2 front and 35 rear I should probably be prepared to change it at the track lol
motobigalow is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:06 PM
  #1659  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WIGMAN View Post
Casper I use a Novak Havoc Pro SC and the wire is long enough to route around battery and up to the receiver, I am thinking about adding a short extention though just to make it look a little cleaner.
Thanks. Another included in the memory!
Casper is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:13 PM
  #1660  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (140)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,131
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TommyGUN View Post
So is the ball cup issue something that TLR will address ? From what I've seen so far, the ball cup mod isn't exactly fixing the problem.
Originally Posted by Frank Root View Post
Yes.
any ideas on what the fix will be? hard to imagine that you guys will send out sets of ball cups, but that would be cool!

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
one of the side guards in my kit had a mold error. one of the tabs was not there (each attachment point has two tabs and the piece on the chassis gets sandwiched between them). should i just email horizon or what is the procedure?
i called TLR support and they're sending me a new set. pretty quick for anyone who has an issue.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:17 PM
  #1661  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 289
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
This setup should be a good place to start and drive for us common folk.
Ryan,

I tested with the box setup at HRH this past weekend. I watered but it dried out quick and was dusty. Truck was real good as long as I stayed in the groove. Really did not have a problem with traction despite what others are claiming to have. I think a lot of this has to do with shock setup and tire selection.

Question I have....going with 25deg pivot block with 5deg caster blocks...will this put more front tire contact patch down vs the 30 + 10 box setup? I noticed that the tires really lean over when turning. I can't help but think that this is limiting me in the fast sweeper. I take it by your setup sheet you prefer the 25 + 5 setup even on the hard pack at HRH?

Last edited by F_ME; 08-27-2012 at 05:20 PM. Reason: edit
F_ME is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:19 PM
  #1662  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F_ME View Post
Ryan,

I tested with the box setup at HRH this past weekend. I watered but it dried out quick and was dusty. Truck was real good as long as I stayed in the groove. Really did not have a problem with traction despite what others are claiming to have. I think a lot of this has to do with shock setup.

Question I have....going with 25deg pivot block with 5deg caster blocks...will this put more front tire contact patch down vs the 30 + 10 box setup? I noticed that the tires really lean over when turning. I can't help but think that this is limiting me in the fast sweeper. I take it by your setup sheet you prefer the 25 + 5 setup even on the hard pack at HRH?
I like how the 25/5 feels as its a little bit more foregiving on initial input but then holds through middle and end of turn.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:33 PM
  #1663  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (140)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,131
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

ryan, how are you putting the weight on? are their weights made to go specifically on the tranny? i looked and could only find the mid-motor weight sets.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:34 PM
  #1664  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=weavty1;11141865]Tool marks inside of a milled/routed pocket done on a CNC/Mill, if ANY, should look like this:


That lower looks like my Mega Arms lowers.
tonyxcom is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:36 PM
  #1665  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Weight-System

here ya go

by the way I received a mid motor weight system in a trade, I will never use it one of you mid motor guys want it you can have it for the shipping cost. But please be really going to use it not a hoarder because I'm sure someone could actually use it.

Last edited by motobigalow; 08-27-2012 at 05:47 PM.
motobigalow is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.