Community
Wiki Posts
Search

various motor and gearng questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 06:27 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 9 (85%+)
Default various motor and gearng questions.

hey bys im new to this side of the thread only been in the buying and selling section but im looking for reccomendations on a motor setup for a sc 10 i just traded for. it came with the castle sidewinder sv2 esc and the 5700 kv 4 pole motor. wondering if theres a better motor i can go with. esc should be fine as its gonna be my 2wd track truck. would a 3800 kv be more suitable for it? also wondering if i can ask questions about my slash 4x4 and slash 2wd trucks here? running a mmp race sct system in my slash 4x4 with the castle 3800 kv motor. would i be better off switch the motors and running the 5700 kv motor in my slash 4x4. or should i just trade my 5700 kv motor for a 3800. im also running the vxl system in my slash simply because its my everywhere truck. simply sits in the back of my truck in a pop crate with two batteries so whereever i go and i find i decent spot i can rip up or for winter time driving ect. ive got a spare 5900 kv hoobyking motor from the sc10 trade so im wondering if i could run that with the vxl 3s esc without blowing it. thanks any help would be appreciated. also wondering what gearing i should use as i will be using 2s an 3s lipo. thanks
Old 06-17-2012, 04:26 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 55 (97%+)

I'm not a fan of the Sidewinder V2 as it has some major heat issues. However, some have had success with it. I believe the 4 pole motors have the biggest issues with it, but 2 pole seems to be ok. That's just my memory which is suspect on a good day, so take it for what it cost ya'.
Old 06-17-2012, 05:30 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)