Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
LOSI SCTE STEERING ISSUE...HELP! >

LOSI SCTE STEERING ISSUE...HELP!

LOSI SCTE STEERING ISSUE...HELP!

Old 05-24-2012, 08:39 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default LOSI SCTE STEERING ISSUE...HELP!

I have been having an issue with my steering, it wont turn tight enough to the right, it pushes out, I have to tap the brake or almost fully stop to turn in tight corners(right only)
if you will ask for EPA, it set up correctly, I am running 5-5-3, it is weird because the only problem is when turning to the right!! I am getting frustrated I have done everything I can and still does it.

I tried running in the parking lot and first thing I did was running it circle to the left and its consistent circle and I could feel has no issue when making a left turn, then I tried running circle to the right, the first loop is fine and it pushes out and fall off the loop after I hit the trhottle more I have noticed the left front tire is slightly straight!!only if I hit the throttle, I dont know if someone know what causes this please let me know.

Thanks,
only8ight is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,834
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Mine does exact same thing check to make sure ur servo linkage isnt hitting ur steering linkage ( ackerman plate)
Mine turns 20% better to left bacause of this
jlfx car audio is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:44 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

i checked everything for possible thing that can bind with something, but i did not see anything, my servo and steering link moves freely...
only8ight is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:37 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Plano
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Have you checked your servo saver?
USP45 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:06 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by USP45 View Post
Have you checked your servo saver?
how is it supposed to be? i have it all the way down about 2mm away from the chassis, ok I have about 2 thread left from the bottom? is that how it supposed to be or thats too loose?
only8ight is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,768
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Is this something that just started happening, or has it always done it? If it just started I would tighten the servo saver and see if it helps. Also, make sure one of the bottom screws that hold the steering posts to the chassis are still tight.
MX304 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:13 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MX304 View Post
Is this something that just started happening, or has it always done it? If it just started I would tighten the servo saver and see if it helps. Also, make sure one of the bottom screws that hold the steering posts to the chassis are still tight.
nope its never been like this before, you know there is one thing i remember though I did loosen up the servo saver all the way down! but i cant recall if that was the effect because I did change all my turnbuckles to titanium. I will give that a try, but servo saver has to be about at least 2-3 threads up right? cause it wont really help if its too tight? I dont really mess with the servo saver but I guess its time for me to experiment here.
only8ight is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:19 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
suby723's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spring Hill Tennessee
Posts: 1,378
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You need to lock your servo saver ALL THE WAY DOWN and then back off about 1/4 turn. Next time post in the losi scte thread...
suby723 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:22 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by suby723 View Post
You need to lock your servo saver ALL THE WAY DOWN and then back off about 1/4 turn. Next time post in the losi scte thread...
that is at least 1 thread left up? isnt that would be too loose?
only8ight is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:24 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
suby723's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spring Hill Tennessee
Posts: 1,378
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by only8ight View Post
that is at least 1 thread left up? isnt that would be too loose?
No the other way around, lock it all the way to where you cant turn it anymore. Back it off 1/4 turn from that point and use red lock tight on the thread so it wont come loose again. You can thank me later..
suby723 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:28 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
only8ight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by suby723 View Post
No the other way around, lock it all the way to where you cant turn it anymore. Back it off 1/4 turn from that point and use red lock tight on the thread so it wont come loose again. You can thank me later..
I knew that was the issue, i think you are exactly right!! cause when I had it all the up when i cant turn it anymore , it was fine, when I put it all the down, thats when started acting up, sorry i had this for a month still learning all the set up on SC, I had losi 8ight and the servo saver set up on that is all the way down against the chassis and back off 1/4 turn up!! well.. i can thank you now!!
only8ight is offline  
Old 07-26-2012, 08:53 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
embryoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

how do you adjust the servo saver without taking things apart? its such a tight space there. thanks in advance.
embryoguy is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 03:27 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by embryoguy View Post
how do you adjust the servo saver without taking things apart? its such a tight space there. thanks in advance.
You can't, otherwise you will flatten the threads outside trying to. Just take it apart by undoing the top and lower screw and servo arm.
While you are at it replace the tube with the hard ano one so it don't strip as easy where the servo saver nut go on.

Double check the 2 bigger 3-32 screws holding down the anchorman arm down as the screws back out and hit the steering arms.
Mr.juarez is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 05:53 AM
  #14  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
embryoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

thank you very much! very helpful, thorough explanation!
embryoguy is offline  
Old 07-27-2012, 08:34 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,319
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

a little information on servo savor .. tighten it as hard as you can by hand having put some blue locktite on it . threads.. on my unit I don't count threads. if your running a heavy duty servo savox, or what ever brand, titanium. you shouldn't have to worry about it adjusted loose.. clean the bearings make sure the bottom screws are tight. bearings are clean. you should be able to (with servo arm off) tilt the car and it should flop back and forth loose..( Loose is good) if you ever landed wrong and possibly bent one of the arms.. if you look real close in to the side where the battery box receiver is you have a mm or two of clearance for the rod end that swipes by it on right turns. it almost hit the diff case. check to see if you have a hitting problem if you do grind the end a mm or two.
chucko is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.