R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2005, 02:25 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,288
Trader Rating: 228 (100%+)
Default RC10 gt Throttle Linkage question?

Hi,
I was wondering if some one could help me with setting up a throttle linkage for a slide carb on a RC10 gt. Pics of the right way to do this would be great. Also what parts do I need, Servo arms ect.

Thanks, Brad
berwicknitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 09:25 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 13
Default

hate to say it but the best T-linkage is to use the one from losi I set my gt up with that with a slide carb and it works...way better than the ae linkage.....man that hurts
hot-dogg-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 12:42 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Send a message via AIM to beetlebz
Default

which one is that hot-dogg?

i would certainly be interested in seeing how you did that. All i can think of would be a T-Maxx style setup.
beetlebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 07:43 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 13
Default

I will get you the part # have not seen the t-maxx set up the losi set works good because it doesn't have so many parts to fall off or to jam up
hot-dogg-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 09:59 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Boregon, USA
Posts: 136
Default

Don't know if it will work on a slide, but the Ofna linkage set is smooth and reliable for the GT.
rocknbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 02:28 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Send a message via AIM to beetlebz
Default

hey rocknbil! i dont think ive seen you off the car action forums hehe

do you have a pic of the linkage?
beetlebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 04:29 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Boregon, USA
Posts: 136
Default

Heh. Well I try to stop by all of the forums as I find time.

Here you go, the linkage comes short of one rod, so plan on using your existing brake rod or buy an extra. You can get them on eBay or Tower for $6-$7. The best thing about them is the plastic slides and doesn't "hang up" on burrs on the rod, and gets rid of that wobbly throttle pivot.

The servo horns are aluminum (Trinity?) and don't come with the linkage kit.

Like I said, I don't know if they work for slide carbs.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg linkage.jpg (40.1 KB, 1442 views)
rocknbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 03:39 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
T-BirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norwood, OH...and CCRCR and The OhioRCFactory
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to T-BirdJunkie Send a message via MSN to T-BirdJunkie
Default

He's asking for a linkage on a slide carb...
your best bet is to get a longer rod for the brake linkage, and turn your servo around backwards (so the horn is on the front)
Just make sure that your carb is angled parallel with the linkage for the carb slide.
hope that helps
__________________
If you don't allow yourself to make mistakes, you'll never allow yourself to succeed
T-BirdJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:21 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,288
Trader Rating: 228 (100%+)
Default

Thanks T-bird
I didn't think of turning the servo around.
berwicknitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:29 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
T-BirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norwood, OH...and CCRCR and The OhioRCFactory
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to T-BirdJunkie Send a message via MSN to T-BirdJunkie
Default

Good luck, let us know how it works out.
__________________
If you don't allow yourself to make mistakes, you'll never allow yourself to succeed
T-BirdJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 01:34 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,288
Trader Rating: 228 (100%+)
Default

I will thanks again.
berwicknitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 02:06 AM   #12
Bud
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 436
Default

Here's a pic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg carb linkage 2.jpg (38.5 KB, 1358 views)
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 02:10 AM   #13
Bud
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 436
Default

Another one. I don't know if you'll be able to see the detail in it. you might have to put it into a photo program and make it bigger. Worth a try anyway.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg carb linkage.jpg (51.0 KB, 888 views)
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STUPID GT throttle linkage... HELP! B3boy Electric Off-Road 15 03-12-2012 08:41 PM
need help with 8ight throttle linkage mike williams Nitro Off-Road 6 02-12-2008 10:14 PM
how should throttle/brake linkage sit? cant get right. atebit Rookie Zone 2 10-11-2007 08:00 AM
throttle carb linkage ? Nytro Ken Electric Off-Road 4 04-13-2003 12:12 PM
THrottle linkage problem... LiLRCLoUiE Nitro On-Road 5 05-18-2002 10:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net