R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   B4 LIPO Gearing (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/622246-b4-lipo-gearing.html)

lemonader83 04-24-2012 03:52 PM

B4 LIPO Gearing

Can anyone give me some advice on how to gear my B4 given my motor, ESC and battery set-up? I know it's going to be undriveable... But I like to feather it up to crazy top speeds and watch it wheelie...

That being said, I have a Mamba Max Pro with a Castle 1406 5700KV Motor. Everything else is as you would expect... Trying to run a 3S LiPo and that is pretty fast but Castle's recommendation on gearing is 87/16 and it's super torquey. Can I run another gear ratio for higher top speed or should I move to a bigger motor? What happens when I move up to 4S, 5S and eventually 6S? Same gear ratio?

Help please...

z50king 04-24-2012 04:22 PM

I can see the possibility of getting a 3S in your B4, but how are you going to stuff a 4S, 5S, 6S in your B4????

I would assume you will destroy your little B4 if you run that much speed. Just go by temps to get your gearing down

umm winning 04-24-2012 05:34 PM

When you move up to 4s 5s 6s you will realize you wasted your time and money even trying... If you want to bash like that, get a e-revo or savage....

z50king 04-24-2012 05:42 PM

Originally Posted by umm winning (Post 10647918)
When you move up to 4s 5s 6s you will realize you wasted your time and money even trying... If you want to bash like that, get a e-revo or savage....

But if he is able to stuff a 6S into a B4, it will be WINNING

lemonader83 04-26-2012 03:10 PM

THANKS GUYS!!!

So since I have people responding to me, one other question. Castle says to run 87T/16T and all the local rc stores are telling me that's way too low. Yet...the last time I ran it with a Sidewinder ESC and my 3S at 81T/23T, I smoked it the minute I put on off-road tires and got to spinning.