Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Choosing Short Course motor...I'm Confused?? >

Choosing Short Course motor...I'm Confused??

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Choosing Short Course motor...I'm Confused??

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 09:00 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Choosing Short Course motor...I'm Confused??

Ok I am new to short course. I have an SC10RS with the stock Reedy 3300kv 540 motor and the Associated XP SC700 esc. Everything is mostly stock, except I added a swaybar, RPM front bumper, Pro Line Trencher rear tires, and a fan for the ESC. I want to get into racing, but not super seriously. Maybe a few times a year. I know my stock motor is good, but what are some suggestions for an upgraded motor? I would like to maybe use my esc if possible. Like I said this will be casual racing, so I don't wanna drop a ton of coin. I am also going to upgrade the servo too. I have been out of rc for a while, so brushless is new to me. I fly helis so I know heli brushless. I understand KV has to do with the rpm of the motor, but I am just confused as to what I could race. Do I go by KV or by the turns??
Old 03-26-2012, 09:07 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Actually that motor that comes with it is perfect for your first year of racing. There's a couple guys at our track with those trucks and they do vary well.

Depending on your track or tracks you will race at, you should be able to run Stock Corr class, depending on the track rules.

Most motors that you would get or look into would be listed as turns, 13.5, 10.5, 8.5 etc....
There are a few mfger's that list by KV, 3500, 4000, 4600...
Old 03-26-2012, 09:10 AM
Tech Regular