Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Going to get a failsafe unit.... >

Going to get a failsafe unit....

Going to get a failsafe unit....

Reply

Old 01-22-2005, 12:59 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 16
Default Going to get a failsafe unit....

...for my HPI Nitro MT2. Got a few questions:

1. What are some features to look for?
2. How hard are they to install, looked pretty straightforward just by looking at it?
3. Anyone got install pics, especially for a MT2, need some ideas for places to mount??
4. advice??

Was looking at these:
http://www.dynamiterc.com/Products/D...N2553#features

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXHLV3&P=ML

http://www.venom-racing.com/product/vfs/index.htm

Thanks!!!
SuperVF1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 01:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Drift_Buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,657
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I have the Venom one, it is extremly small, I got a shock recieving it after I ordered it. Just hook it up to the throttle servo and follow the instructions on the back.

Cheers
Drift_Buggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 03:26 PM
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: please try not to look at my avatar to long may cause u know what
Posts: 464
Default

i have a ofna not one u mentoind mut stll geat works good and is farily inexpesive 30$ can
andy_666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 01:55 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,330
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I use the ofna also. Nice and small, and good price.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 02:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
OvalEvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My failsafe caused more runaways than it stopped...i quit using one about 6 months ago.
OvalEvader is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 05:43 PM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: downingtown, pennsylvania
Posts: 67
Default

sorry to be noobish, but what does a failsafe do?
thumpin15s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 06:10 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,330
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

A failsafe is supposed to put your car to full brake, if for some reason you lose radio contact or have a glitch. You set it to put the servo where you want it to go if you lose signal. So you could set it to turn the front wheels if you wanted, but that wouldn't make much sense.

It's a very good thing to have as it prevents runaways. But you need to be running a 6 volt reciever pack, as it cuts in a around 4 volts or something like that.

If for some reason your battery comes unplugged, it will be rendered useless. Which is why even with a failsafe you still need a throttle return spring.

For 30 dollars, it's cheap insurance against runaways. Especially if you race and a runaway could hit somebody.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 08:30 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (92)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

ya, we race at this ski lodge on top of a mountain, my freind didint have a failsafe, and guess where his car went at 40mph?!!!!


I would go with the venom or Ofna Mini
BSchorr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 08:45 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by BSchorr
ya, we race at this ski lodge on top of a mountain, my freind didint have a failsafe, and guess where his car went at 40mph?!!!!


I would go with the venom or Ofna Mini
Is that LaCrosse?
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 01:20 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (92)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

nope, Duluth, Minnesota
BSchorr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service