Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Help with 1/8 scale buggy battery choices >

Help with 1/8 scale buggy battery choices

Help with 1/8 scale buggy battery choices

Old 03-03-2012, 07:56 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 286 (99%+)
Default Help with 1/8 scale buggy battery choices

Ok guys...I am very new to the 1/8 scale electric scene and want to start getting some batteries and stuff for my buggy. I am getting the new Duratrax buggy when it comes out.

I will be running a Hobbywing 150a XERUN speedo and Tekin 2050kv motor. The speedo is good from 2S-6S, but I just don't know what batteries to buy. I spent an hour looking online today and only got more confused. Do I spend the money on a $175 pack or get 2-3 packs that equal that price? I do plan on using this strickly for racing on the club level, but still don't want them to puff from being to weak.

I here some guys running 6S, some 4S and now I'm seeing 3S. Can someone please explain the pros/cons of each? Also, how many mah and c rating are enough?

Thanks to anyone who responds.
Old 03-03-2012, 08:24 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)

With that esc and motor choice I would stick with 4s 5000mah or higher. The higher the c rating the better. As far as which brand of lipo to buy is how much you want to spend. It also depends on how well you take care of the lipos. As long as you balance them, and don't let them drop to low you'll be fine.

The question you need to found out, is if your local track requires hard case lipos or if it doesn't matter. When it comes to buying lipos, Turnigy are pretty good IMO and I've had good luck with them. I've also have Thunderpower 4s lipos and they are also nice. But those will set you back quite a bit.

I would also try to find out the battery tray dimensions of the duratrax buggy. That way when you buy the batteries, it will fit and you won't be stuck with a battery that doesn't fit. Hope this helps.
Old 03-03-2012, 08:42 PM