SC10 vs SC10 RS

Reply

Old 03-02-2012, 01:31 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Granville, IL
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default SC10 vs SC10 RS

Looking to get an SC10. It will be mostly for bashing, but I will run for fun at a local track. I cant decide between the SC10 or the SC10rs. My wife already gave me the go ahead on the price of an SC10, but I might be able to squeeze enough out for the RS. What do you guys think? Is it worth the fight? haha
mberta2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:57 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

not much of a difference at all. RS has Hex all the way around a different battery strap.. different esc, V2 slipper hub, V2 blue shocks (not threaded)....I dont beleive theres a performance difference between the two... can you warrent those things to be worth $100 more??
trickedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:21 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 373
Default

Originally Posted by mberta2 View Post
Looking to get an SC10. It will be mostly for bashing, but I will run for fun at a local track. I cant decide between the SC10 or the SC10rs. My wife already gave me the go ahead on the price of an SC10, but I might be able to squeeze enough out for the RS. What do you guys think? Is it worth the fight? haha
If you have your electronics already get the SC10, if you dont, get the RS. Seems that simple to me. As far as i can tell budget might be a consideration and electronics is where it kills you. My son is just starting so i got him the RS. I had all my own gear so I bought the Factory kit. The RS has a ton of advantages if you don't have your electronics but if you do, stick with the straight SC10 or the FT version.
Leadfinger2011 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:41 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Leadfinger2011 View Post
If you have your electronics already get the SC10, if you dont, get the RS. Seems that simple to me. As far as i can tell budget might be a consideration and electronics is where it kills you. My son is just starting so i got him the RS. I had all my own gear so I bought the Factory kit. The RS has a ton of advantages if you don't have your electronics but if you do, stick with the straight SC10 or the FT version.
??Explain, The straight sc10 has esc/motor too same motor just different esc, both lipo ready brushless..For mainly BASHING the cost of the regular sc10 outweighs what you get in the RS
trickedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:59 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 373
Default

Originally Posted by trickedout View Post
??Explain, The straight sc10 has esc/motor too same motor just different esc, both lipo ready brushless..For mainly BASHING the cost of the regular sc10 outweighs what you get in the RS
OK, guess I should have been a tad more clear.
When i said straight kit I meant roller, kit without any electronics. At associated is seems that kit (pn 7047) is discontinued.

The RS kit(p/n 7046 to 7049), if you want something close to RTR but still race-able the RS is the best route. You will have to add batteries and chargers into the budget.

The RTR kits are all inclusive including batteries and cheap chargers and stuff, not stuff you'd race with though.
Go to this link and you can compare the links. I have on RS and one Factory kit if you have more questions.
http://www.teamassociated.com/cars_and_trucks/SC10/
Leadfinger2011 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:23 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
brent701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trickedout View Post
??Explain, The straight sc10 has esc/motor too same motor just different esc, both lipo ready brushless..For mainly BASHING the cost of the regular sc10 outweighs what you get in the RS
I thin only the RS and FT have the lipo friendly battery strap. the other SC10's have the one that is bolted in.
brent701 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by brent701 View Post
I thin only the RS and FT have the lipo friendly battery strap. the other SC10's have the one that is bolted in.
I said lipo ready esc. But your mistaken all sc10 versions can accept a lipo battery. The standard sc10 battery strap is different as is the rs to the ft but all can and do fit most 2s lipos...
trickedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Granville, IL
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Isn't the standard SC10 brushed and the RS is brushless? Also, the standard has an AM tx, and the RS has 2.4. I have an Airtronics MX Sport tx so the am tx isn't a big deal.
mberta2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Granville, IL
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here are links to the RTR's that I am looking at.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBGXK&P=7
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXXRC8**&P=7
mberta2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:02 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I stand corrected. I wasn't Aware that ae finnaly took away the brushless sc10 rtr truck and now just have it in the rs form. Guess its been awhile since I bought mine. In that case yes I'd get the rs hands down!
trickedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:55 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
brent701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trickedout View Post
I said lipo ready esc. But your mistaken all sc10 versions can accept a lipo battery. The standard sc10 battery strap is different as is the rs to the ft but all can and do fit most 2s lipos...
I never said any can't take a lipo.

I meant not all lipos will fit in the standard battery strap.
My lipos won't without cutting some of the strap.
I have a RS, so its not a problem
brent701 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service