LiFe Battery

Reply

Old 03-02-2012, 10:26 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
AErckidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default LiFe Battery

I just picked up a new 1850 mAh 6.6v LiFe battery but I'm not sure what the low voltage cutoff should be? Does anyone know? Thanks!
AErckidd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:28 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 875
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Same as LiPo, 3.2v/cell.
WindDrake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:31 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
AErckidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WindDrake View Post
Same as LiPo, 3.2v/cell.
It's 2 cell, so it'd be a 6.4v cutoff? It starts at only 6.6v though.
AErckidd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:12 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

6.6 is not the charged voltage. The charged voltage is 7.2 if I read correctly. -Just like 7v is the cutoff for LiPo and 7.6 is the storage voltage...

In some searching the cutoff is more like 4.6 volts for the pack, or 2.3 volts per cell, though I keep reading 2.0 volts as the bottom limit.
MikeInCtown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:28 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Buggy Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewHampshire
Posts: 418
Default

No cut-off, what will kill them is sitting at very low to 0 volts for a long period of time. Like if you killed the battery then forgot and and left the car "ON". When the cells reach 2.0 volts you have used 95%. I ran them for years with no cut-off and all my A-123's still perform great and most have over 1000 cycles.......BB
Buggy Brad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 875
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I actually misremembered in my earlier post.

It's 2.8v-3v/cell. A lot of folks don't bother with a cutoff, as the thing they are powering will often lose power function at or just below cutoff. 2.8 is the bottom limit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lifepo4
WindDrake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:32 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Tomac2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cranbourne
Posts: 369
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Iv got a LiFe battery in my transmitter & Iv set the cut off at 6.6v.
http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_t...4.l1581&_pgn=2

According to the info above, I think this means I can safely go as low as 6v ?
Tomac2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:23 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
AErckidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tomac2 View Post
Iv got a LiFe battery in my transmitter & Iv set the cut off at 6.6v.
http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_t...4.l1581&_pgn=2

According to the info above, I think this means I can safely go as low as 6v ?
Yeah, I'm more than likely going to just set it at like 6v and it should be fine.
AErckidd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:25 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
ViGiLaNtE351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West Sydney, Originally from Tas
Posts: 1,084
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WindDrake View Post
I actually misremembered in my earlier post.

It's 2.8v-3v/cell. A lot of folks don't bother with a cutoff, as the thing they are powering will often lose power function at or just below cutoff. 2.8 is the bottom limit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lifepo4
"Misremembered"? You mean "Forgot"? LOL.
ViGiLaNtE351 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 03:39 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Tomac2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cranbourne
Posts: 369
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AErckidd View Post
Yeah, I'm more than likely going to just set it at like 6v and it should be fine.
6v it its then

cheers
Tomac2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:59 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
AErckidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ViGiLaNtE351 View Post
"Misremembered"? You mean "Forgot"? LOL.
AErckidd is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service