Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Arrma Fury SCT + Hopups >

Arrma Fury SCT + Hopups

Arrma Fury SCT + Hopups

Old 02-23-2012, 08:34 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default OFFICAL - ARRMA FURY 2wd SCT

Well my friend picked up an Arrma Fury 2wd SCT RTR kit today. We got a chance to bash around with it in a dirt lot and I must say I was pretty impressed.

The overall build is good, a lot of aluminum and a decent layout. I like the battery box and ability to swap batteries without removing the body.

Of course there dont seem to be a lot of hopups for this RC yet, and obviously my favorite part of the hobby is upgrade and modding the cars!

Here are some pics of the car and battery tray:











So I started digging around my extra parts and found my old CRT .5 aluminum threaded shocks. Turns out they are almost identical!

We've been running the stock electronics with a 2s 4000mAh battery, and will be getting some 2s 5000mAh for him to bash / track run with.

So mod 1:
Stock plastic shocks => CRT .5 Aluminum threaded shocks.
I set them up with the blue springs and 25wt oil.







The next mods are going to be adding a sidewinder sct and a 3500 - 4000kv brushless motor

Lets also start a more detailed spec list:

Motor: Arrma 'MEGA' 15T BRUSHED 540 MOTOR
ESC: Arrma 'MEGA' Brushed ESC (WITH INTEGRATED LIPO PROTECTOR)
Spur: 87 tooth 48pitch
Pinion: 18 tooth 48pitch
Servo: Arrma AS-1 (approx 105oz)
Rx: Arrma ARX300 3CH RTR RECEIVER 2.4gHz
Tx: Arrma 'ATX-300' 3CH 2.4Ghz TRANSMITTER

If anyone can find out the speed of the stock servo ill add it in.

Last edited by agarabaghi; 02-24-2012 at 02:41 PM.
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:43 PM
  #2  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Nice ! I acutally had a chance to drive that truck at a indoor track and im impressed with it handles good and lands soft. And you can fill the diff with diff oil since its sealed turns good also ! Im thinking about selling my 2wd slash and getting one maybe or something else.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:45 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Is the diff filled with grease now?

i too was impressed with how the car handled. Hope he dishes out the cash for brushless, i mean $32 for a tacon motor wont break the bank
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Originally Posted by agarabaghi View Post
Is the diff filled with grease now?

i too was impressed with how the car handled. Hope he dishes out the cash for brushless, i mean $32 for a tacon motor wont break the bank

I think its filled with diff oil but knowing its a rtr its likely very little of it. You can tell if it is by moving both rear tire. If the diff action feels free it has grease in them if not it has diff oil in them .


Oh yea i whould give the Tacon motor a try i just dont like them stiff wires they use on them though .
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:50 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

If i can find a cheap castle 4600kv ill pick that up too, but i know hes not really as into this hobby as i am so i dont wanna scare him away with the prices haha
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:14 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Stormer has the sct / 3800 combo for 118$
jsinclair is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:24 PM
  #7  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

The only thing i dont like is the lack of tuning holes on the shock towers im not sure why its like that even my slash has extra tuning holes ?
tc5 man is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (30)
 
ta03 tuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I'm actually ditching my Blitzes to try and race one of these (yea its crazy but that's half the fun in RC)...and like one of the guys posted, the achilles heel is gonna be the lack of shock mounting points...Gonna need lots of different springs to compensate for proper balance. Mine is arriving via UPS tomorrow....can't wait. Love the chassis design...reminds me of my gen 1 Kyosho Ultima I had as a kid. Probably gonna ditch the stock body, tires, esc/motor right away though.
ta03 tuner is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 05:45 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

What kv motor do you plan on running? I already have a castle sidewinder sct esc I'm going to put in.

Yea I'm going to look at the shock towers and see if maybe othe brands can be modded on. The CRT .5 shock should help as they are adjustable and have plenty of spring options. Plus, they seem to be much better than the stock ones.

As for tires I haven't looked but I'm assuming they are standard 12mm Hexs?
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:39 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Any wheels for the Slash 4x4/Blitz will fit.
JasonLee is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:41 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Awesome. Time to get some track rubbers!

Got to say the suspension upgrade is very nice. It's jumping much better, after a little tweaking. Lands super soft and tracks nice.
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:44 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

How is the stock radio? It's the only thing I don't like about this truck.
JasonLee is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:45 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

range / performance is good. It's got buttons for trim instead of knobs. Looks... yea it looks like something from toys r us. I will probably convince my friend to get a spektrum of some sort so i can race it =P
agarabaghi is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 01:09 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (30)
 
ta03 tuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JasonLee View Post
Any wheels for the Slash 4x4/Blitz will fit.
Actually, you'll probably want to use their own line of wheels...it has a proprietary offset...blitz/slash wheels will fit but it will be a bit wider and not ROAR legal...not that it matters much on the local race level but it will rub the body....just tried it on mine.
ta03 tuner is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 01:12 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

good to know, do they sell just the rims? Id like to put some track tires on em

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBLAT&P=7

Assuming those are 2.2/3.0 right?
agarabaghi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.