Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Need tech help with 1/8 scale buggy conversion....please!!! >

Need tech help with 1/8 scale buggy conversion....please!!!

Need tech help with 1/8 scale buggy conversion....please!!!

Old 02-10-2012, 07:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default Need tech help with 1/8 scale buggy conversion....please!!!

I'm converting an ofna ultra to electric and I have the bracket and I'm ready for a motor and esc, I have looked at hobbypartz and would like to purchase the xerun M1 setup but all the batteries that I run are 2cell lipos
So my question is am I going to have to purchase all new batteries for this project or has anyone ran 2cell with this setup and did it work out?

Please reply or im me I'm ready get this thing goin
Thanks
ECVFR815 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:10 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

2s won't be enough for that setup. You can make a wiring harness to use two of your 2s batteries in series which is the same as running a 4s battery.
MX304 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:19 PM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default

Ok I have a couple of 'Y's......that's what you mean right?
ECVFR815 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 10:09 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ECVFR815
Ok I have a couple of 'Y's......that's what you mean right?
As long the Y is wired in series, and not parallel.
MX304 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 11:50 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 875
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I've got an Ultra LX2-E, nearly the same buggy you have.

The thing is a dog with 2S. It needs 4 to run properly.
WindDrake is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 03:02 AM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default

So should I back up and go with the hobbyking trackstar setup instead cause it states that it will run 2-6s
ECVFR815 is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 03:38 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
RatsacK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ECVFR815
So should I back up and go with the hobbyking trackstar setup instead cause it states that it will run 2-6s
You'll never be able to run that buggy on 2s. Lowest you could go is 3s but you'd need a fairly high KV motor to do that (the Trackstar would probably be fine on 3s). Just because it states it'll run on 2s, doesn't mean it'll run right/fast.
Seriously, just use your batteries in series and get the XERUN 150A/2000KV combo.

EDIT: What's the capacity and discharge (C) rating of your batteries?
RatsacK is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 03:56 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,100
Default

+1, just use two 2S lipos serial connected
Pulse_ is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 04:48 AM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default

The batteries I'm running are 5400mah 25c
But I'm thinking of buying 2 sky 3s 5000mah
To run in my slash so if I'm understanding right I can run those
In series in the buggy to and be plenty happy
ECVFR815 is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 05:05 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
RatsacK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ECVFR815
The batteries I'm running are 5400mah 25c
But I'm thinking of buying 2 sky 3s 5000mah
To run in my slash so if I'm understanding right I can run those
In series in the buggy to and be plenty happy
More then plenty happy, it's overkill. It will get expensive buying new tires all the time. This is what happened when I ran 6s in my LX1e;
RatsacK is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:10 AM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default

Hahahaha yeah I understand where your comming from there but just can't help but want to do it atleast once right...LOL
ECVFR815 is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 11:22 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,100
Default

If you want to use 2S lipos and serial connect them then you'll have to use the same specs lipos (mah, C rate, brand etc..).

You can run 5S or 6S with no problem, it depends on the kv rating of your motor.
Pulse_ is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:46 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
ECVFR815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stephenville
Posts: 34
Default

Ok cool that all makes perfect sense when I get it all finished I will load some photos and if I thrash the heck out of it..... I will post that too
ECVFR815 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.