Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Picking a Starter Box >

Picking a Starter Box

Picking a Starter Box

Reply

Old 01-08-2005, 10:04 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Picking a Starter Box

Hey Guys,
I'm searching for a Starter box, as you can see. But I am wondering if anybody sells a version that can be used to start 1:8 Buggies and 1:10 Trucks. I'm also looking for a RTU unit, but that can be disregarded.
Thanks for any help!
-Jeff
LosiFromHell986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 11:21 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,536
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Since buggies engine's site vertical with the chassis & trucks are horizontal with the chassis. One start box wont be able to do it. Unless you get really lucky & the things that stick-up somehow match them both. There are universal boxes though, but I dont think that'll help much.
Nrctc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 11:37 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Default

Yeah, I'm looking for a universal one. Sorry, I should have said that to begin with.
LosiFromHell986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 12:29 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Best choice might be to get a motor and wheel without a box, and hold it with your hand.
Aaron Waldron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 09:58 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Sofast-NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 462
Default

The ofna ultra box.www.ofna.com
Sofast-NT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 11:21 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Default

is this the box you're talking about?

Looks good....?
LosiFromHell986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 02:23 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,341
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Aaron Waldron
Best choice might be to get a motor and wheel without a box, and hold it with your hand.
That way is no fun to do. I did for awhile, and you're always holding it up and trying to look underneath it to line it up. Not to mention it's trying to bounce outta your hand. Hehe, and if someone else trys to start it for you, they may end up rolling it over backwards.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 02:24 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

I would say the Team Magic X5 box. My brother is using it on his MP7.5, and it's awesome, twin 550 motors and 14,4V. It's quite easy to switch between different engineplacements also.
http://www.teammagic.com.tw/products...er=120&pid=333
Erlend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 05:04 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Default

Erlend, do you have any idea where I could find out how much this box is and who carries in in the US?
LosiFromHell986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 02:01 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Hobby People can order the Team Magic boxes. We had one at the Escondido store for a while..
Aaron Waldron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 05:38 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Default

Thanks, Aaron. I'll give them a call.
LosiFromHell986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 06:03 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I have the Associated box and it can be set up for either. It's a pain to go from vertical to horizontal so I just got another box.
Breakin2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service