savox 1258tg-BEC

Old 01-27-2012, 03:55 PM
  #1  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default savox 1258tg-BEC

i decided on getting the savox 1258tg but you guys were talking about BEC's whats that all about im running 5000 7.4v 2s batteries and up.
but i have a feeling i made a bad purchase i want to get a radipost but i dont know if it fits in a scte or xxx-sct. thanks
biggerc is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 04:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by biggerc View Post
i decided on getting the savox 1258tg but you guys were talking about BEC's whats that all about im running 5000 7.4v 2s batteries and up.
but i have a feeling i made a bad purchase i want to get a radipost but i dont know if it fits in a scte or xxx-sct. thanks
BEC is needed if your ESC is not up to the amp needs of the servo or just to take some heat load off the ESC.

Last edited by thx138; 01-27-2012 at 04:48 PM.
thx138 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 04:35 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Agree...totally dependant on your esc and the weight of the vehicle you are using it in. The higher the amp draw etc, or the heavier the vehicle, the more likely you will need a bec. However, depends on the esc.
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 05:16 PM
  #4  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i run tekin rs and rx8
biggerc is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 05:51 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

if run the rx8 in your scte just get a glitch buster no need for bec
i had a 1258 tg in my scte draws more amps then most servos so with my car ran bec with mmp speedo but didnt know that the newer mmp i had was internal bec adjustable so didnt need the external i bought just needed glitch buster with the savox servo and will no problems
jewn_beef is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 08:37 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Pointy71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I've tried to run 1258 with Castle Sidewinder, Sidewinder SCT, Mamba Max, Mamba Monster, Orion Vortex, Tekin RSpro and Tekin RX8.

ONLY the Orion was able to power the 1258 without getting glitches.

I have two 1258 and in both cars I have a BEC. See my signature. Without one it just doesn't work.

1258 is good value but I switched back to the XP DS1015 which works well for me.
Pointy71 is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 01:04 AM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 12
Default

I'm also wondering if i need a bec for my 1258 tg seems a little slower than vids i seen on YT

I've got a Castle SV3 Speed Control & 1406 4600KV Motor
bti_jet is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 02:11 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
R1Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,183
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Most likely will need a bec. Castles have weak becs. I had problems with this servo and a Mamba Monster. Switched to Hobbywing and haven't had any problems.
R1Joel is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 02:39 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton
Posts: 497
Default

Some of the Savox servos draw more amps than other servos, and some radios are sensitive to voltage drops with Spektrum seemingly being the worst.
The issue is some speedos BEC circuits aren't able to deliver the current so then the voltage drops and as the electrical supply for the servo goes through the receiver this sees the voltage drop as well, this causes some receivers to go into fail safe causing them to shut down and reboot.

I used to do 1/8th electric and started with RX8, Spektrum radio and 1256 servo and this combination gave me issues that a glitch buster didn't resolve, the receiver would switch off and reboot two to three times a lap and made racing dangerous and certainly no fun. I changed to a Sanwa/Airtronics radio and this pretty much resolved the issue but I soon got rid of the Savox servo as well as I lost faith in it and went to Futaba which was faultless. The Futaba was about the same price as the Savox as well!
Badger5 is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 02:37 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks for replies guys
bti_jet is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.