R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   gearing to low, a bad thing? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/581920-gearing-low-bad-thing.html)

turners dad 12-28-2011 10:41 PM

gearing to low, a bad thing?

I am new to this and was wondering if I would harm a 10.5 BL LRP by gearing it to low. I have this motor in a Slash my son is racing, we are running a technical indoor track with one front stretch that is probably 70' or so long. The track is tacky not muddy with one large double, with a 15/90 he can make the double fine. I kinda need to slow him down and that is the reason for the gearing it down idea. Temp runs around 125* after 7 mins. He only has a simple radio with no epa, the truck also has a LRP ssx tc speed control that after I get the link up cable I could adjust things but not sure what they would be yet. Please keep it in simple english if you have any ideas, I am new and learning. I do know this motor is probably to hot for a young novice driver but I don't mind repairs and broken parts due to FAST. He is a quick learner and does really well running against the grown ups he has to race against. Is going lower (15/90) on the pinion going to hurt the motor, heat seems to be ok at this point. Thanks in advance.

Yeti AS3 12-28-2011 11:08 PM

The USB link cable is only to update the ESC firmware. The LRP SXX is programmed through the mode button. Check the users manual, you want setting #3 (throttle profile) to be zero. Under-gearing can cause the motor to generate more heat because it is spinning at max rpm more. just keep an eye on temps. Somebody may have more on this, but you could probably turn down the motor timing for less rpm and more torque.

morgoth 12-29-2011 05:26 AM

The motor should keep accelerating until 3/4 of the straight. A little less won't hurt, but you should avoid that the is spinning at the top RPM's in the infield.