Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekin Redline question... >

Tekin Redline question...

Tekin Redline question...

Old 11-02-2011, 06:22 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Bugger234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Tekin Redline question...

I just read on the Tekin website that their sensored brushless motors are compatable with sensored and sensor less ESCs... Has anyone tried this out, and if so how did it go?

I got a Xcelorin ESC on one of my b44s, and a mamba max in the other... Just wondering if I could kill two birds with one stone
Bugger234 is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:23 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
racing_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane
Posts: 342
Default

Originally Posted by Bugger234 View Post
I just read on the Tekin website that their sensored brushless motors are compatable with sensored and sensor less ESCs... Has anyone tried this out, and if so how did it go?

I got a Xcelorin ESC on one of my b44s, and a mamba max in the other... Just wondering if I could kill two birds with one stone
Ive never done it but people have done it and never had a problem with it cant see there being a problem.
Jason
racing_jason is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:36 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

All sensored motors will run on a sensorless esc, as far as i know. It's the other way around, related to a particular esc, where some will some won't. i.e. running unsensored with a novak esc will not work, same with viper, etc...

Tekin esc's on the other hand can run sensored or non sensored and have a mode for each. In fact, i run mine often in dual mode, which is sensored off the start, up to a certain rpm range, then non once it's going for greater efficiency.
lowroad is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:02 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Bugger234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad View Post
All sensored motors will run on a sensorless esc, as far as i know. It's the other way around, related to a particular esc, where some will some won't. i.e. running unsensored with a novak esc will not work, same with viper, etc...

Tekin esc's on the other hand can run sensored or non sensored and have a mode for each. In fact, i run mine often in dual mode, which is sensored off the start, up to a certain rpm range, then non once it's going for greater efficiency.
So what you are saying is that I can use a Tekin 6.5t Redline on both my Mamba Max and Losi Xcelorin? The Mamba Max is not sensored, but the Xcelorin is... Oh, and do i need the sensor cable to plug the redline into the xcelorin all the way?
Bugger234 is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:07 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

what I am saying is that it's the esc that determines compatibility, not the motor.
lowroad is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:24 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Bugger234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad View Post
what I am saying is that it's the esc that determines compatibility, not the motor.
Alright. I'll do some research.
Bugger234 is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:07 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,636
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bugger234 View Post
Alright. I'll do some research.
The motor will work just fine with the a sensorless ESC. Expect to see some cogging from the sensorless setup with such a hot wind though.
madweazl is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 10:12 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bugger234 View Post
Alright. I'll do some research.
No, yes, I'm sorry. Not enough coffee. No reason that motor shouldn't work with the mamba max (best esc castle ever built in my opinion, btw). But like mentioned above, there will most likely be some small amount of cogging because of the fact that it is a 6.5, which is pretty stout. The losi xceleron will absolutely also run it with a sensor cable as well. Sorry I wasn't clear, and sounded dickish.
lowroad is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 03:44 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Bugger234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad View Post
No, yes, I'm sorry. Not enough coffee. No reason that motor shouldn't work with the mamba max (best esc castle ever built in my opinion, btw). But like mentioned above, there will most likely be some small amount of cogging because of the fact that it is a 6.5, which is pretty stout. The losi xceleron will absolutely also run it with a sensor cable as well. Sorry I wasn't clear, and sounded dickish.
Oh no no no, definitely didn't sound dickish... I am just really inexperienced in these terms. Got the mamba max last year, used, as my first brushless setup. Was running brushed from there backwards.

Don't be too harsh on yourself. I never even thought you sounded dickish, or rude...
Bugger234 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.