Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
New release Blitz RTR or original? >

New release Blitz RTR or original?

New release Blitz RTR or original?

Old 10-18-2011, 12:08 PM
Tech Rookie

Default New release Blitz RTR or original?

Hi,

I'm new to RC cars and specifically want to get into short course trucks. After months of research, browsing forums, talking to LHS, and attending local races, I have decided on spending my hard earned cash on HPI Blitz RTR 2wd truck. The only question I have is which Blitz to buy?

I have found a new (original) Blitz RTR with bat. and charger for $177.00 shipped to my door. I have also found a NEW Blitz RTR with bat and charger for $229.00 shipped to my door. If my info is correct, the changes include: 2.4 radio, new body, and waterproof electronics.

Initially, the truck will be used for bashing. If I get into it and enjoy driving, I may want to race it. My question is the extra $52 worth it? I could care less about the body. Waterproof electronics doesn't seem to be a breaking point. Maybe difference in radio is enough justification.

I am thinking of getting the cheaper one. If I decide to race, I will want to replace motor, esc, and probably radio anyway. What do you guys think?

Is the updated Blitz RTR worth an extra $52? Thanks for the anticipated help....
Old 10-20-2011, 04:54 PM
Tech Rookie

No thoughts on the two different versions? Maybe I should have posted on an HPI specific thread? Or maybe posted the obligatory "What truck should I buy" general question that every newby asks?
Old 10-20-2011, 06:16 PM
Tech Rookie

The Blitz is a great truck. My brother has one and it handles great and is lots of fun to drive. We both also have E-Firestorms. These trucks are so much more fun to drive with brushless systems installed.