R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2004, 01:52 PM   #31
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nick111
AE Racer, i thought you switched to a m8 when you got your bk2, i also noticed that jason did the same thing, is there just something that the m8 has for losi's and the 3pk has for associated's?
Nope. Im sticking with this radio for atleast a few more years. I definitly couldnt afford to get another radio and I dont want one anyway. If I were to get another though, I'd probably be looking at the KO helios, cause they're really cool. Btw, Ive always had the bk2.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 03:05 PM   #32
Tech Regular
 
Nick111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Nick111
Default

alright now im confused, i thought you were wes?
__________________
www.BIGjohnsonpaints.webs.com
Nick111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 07:17 PM   #33
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

No, Im Rich Spatz

The Ae is just in my name because before I gor the Bk2 I only had a gt and ntc3
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 04:46 AM   #34
Tech Regular
 
Nick111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Nick111
Default

Oh, i see it now. gotcha. well adding to this topic, In January im getting a m8 and im gunna put on the Spektrum DSM and see how it works. The website says no glitches but being prolly one of the first people to try it ill prolly run into a few glitches
__________________
www.BIGjohnsonpaints.webs.com
Nick111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 05:39 AM   #35
Tech Adept
 
Diesel Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 227
Default

Slightly off topic guys but if using the failsafe feature on the 3PK do you have to use a digital servo?

Cheers, Mark
Diesel Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:31 AM   #36
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Nick the Spektrum DSM has been tested for over a year with no problems,I dont think you will have any glitching problems.On the Futaba fail safe you dont have to have digital servos but you do have to use the HRS receiver,If you want to use the hi speed feature of the 3PK you have to use digital servos.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 08:16 AM   #37
Tech Adept
 
Diesel Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 227
Default

Thanks xxxkat, it won't work with the PCM receiver and analogue servo then?

Cheers, Mark
Diesel Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 01:57 PM   #38
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nick111
Oh, i see it now. gotcha. well adding to this topic, In January im getting a m8 and im gunna put on the Spektrum DSM and see how it works. The website says no glitches but being prolly one of the first people to try it ill prolly run into a few glitches
I wouldn't even bother putting the spektrum in. My radio has never glitched once except for when it's beeping like crazy and on the verge of shutting off because the batteries are so low. Ive also never had to change frequencies once while racing, so I dont think thats much of a problem either. If you do get it though, hopefully they will sell it with the m8 for a slightly cheaper price, so you won't have to get rid of the airtronics reciever and modual. I really like the short antenna on the spektrum, that way you can hold the radio however you want and not have it block your view.

You dont need digital servos or an HRS reviever to use the failsafe on the 3pk. It says so in the manual, and Ive tried it myself.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 03:07 PM   #39
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

If you attend big races with a considerable amount of entries, you will usually always have to change your frequency at least a few times.

The Spektrum system will cut down on glitching caused by electronic noise, other environmental factors, and the possibility of someone else turning their radio on with your frequency.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 03:26 PM   #40
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Hunnnn??? AE..You have to use the WHOLE Spektrum system for it to work,Have you read up on this sysyem and how it works??It sounds like you dont know much about it.If you go to a larger race their will be someone on your frequency.. You should feel fortunate for not having any glitching problems..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 04:30 PM   #41
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
Hunnnn??? AE..You have to use the WHOLE Spektrum system for it to work,Have you read up on this sysyem and how it works??It sounds like you dont know much about it.If you go to a larger race their will be someone on your frequency.. You should feel fortunate for not having any glitching problems..
He races at the same track that I do so I just wanted to let him know that it might not be necessary there. But if he's going to race at other places, I'm sure it'll come in handy. It's definitly a much easier solution than the other synthesized stuff. That is a very good point with someone turning on their radio, the whole system might be worth it for that. Once someone did that so me and my car kept going at the end of the straight and ran right into the wall, it broke my servo and I ended up spending $80 on a new one, I would have been more than halfway there for the system if that crash could have been prevented.

Isn't the "whole system" just the reciever and modual? I read everything that was on their website. What am I missing? Now that I'm reading over my post, I think you may have confused me saying "you won't have to get rid of the modual and airtronics reciever" meaning sell them because they wont be included in the package, with being able to use them.

Last edited by AE Racer; 11-17-2004 at 04:39 PM.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:38 PM   #42
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I may have just done that.. The other part of the DSM that I like is no motor interference either..
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 04:47 AM   #43
Tech Regular
 
Nick111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Nick111
Default

me and jason are on same freq. and sometime other people come and are on my other freq. so the spektrum model is best for me. and im not spending 250 on a synthesized module that has less features than the spektrum, and by the way, the spektrums antenae is 8.5 inches long, not exactly extremely short, but no antenae in the car so thats good enough for me. now i just gota get a new body so i dont have a blank hole
__________________
www.BIGjohnsonpaints.webs.com
Nick111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendations for ESC please... chin Australian Racing 2 04-22-2008 09:31 PM
ESC recommendations WayzOfTheCore Rookie Zone 7 04-11-2007 07:48 PM
need some recommendations on TC please :) adam lancia Electric On-Road 24 12-10-2006 11:14 AM
xxx-s esc recommendations? subman Electric On-Road 6 01-28-2004 09:41 PM
Radio recommendations. any suggestions nigel1210 Nitro On-Road 19 01-24-2003 01:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net