Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekin RS Pro -- No Lights >

Tekin RS Pro -- No Lights

Tekin RS Pro -- No Lights

Old 08-19-2011, 12:06 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS Pro -- No Lights

I have a Tekin RS Pro, when I plug in the battery (fully charged 2s LiPo), none of the lights on the RS Pro come on. The servo works fine, just no lights, no motor. I can reprogram it via hotwire, and I get the center LED to light up. However when I connect everything up again, hook up the battery, no lights.

Any suggestions?
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 12:28 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
MattFromSooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 77
Default

try re-setting the endpoints, sounds to me like its not arming
MattFromSooke is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 12:33 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Sorry, but what do you mean by end points?
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 12:51 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
RatsacK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Repulse View Post
Sorry, but what do you mean by end points?
The throttle on your remote. Could try changing your trim a little as well to see if that fixes it.
RatsacK is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 01:11 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I adjusted my travel on my transmitter, didn't fix it. Re-calibrated it, but didn't go full throttle/reverse. I just re-soldered the battery posts, that didn't fix it. I do the steps to factory reset the RSpro, but no LEDs light up. I dont even get the chance to try to calibrate my transmitter. My servo steers fine though on the plus side :P

Thanks
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 01:58 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 264
Default

upupup
caaraa is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 06:47 AM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Any more suggestions? Or should I just send it to the factory?
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:09 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Repulse View Post
Any more suggestions? Or should I just send it to the factory?
you could try calling tekin.
lowroad is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:17 AM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I was going to try the live chat thing, soon as someone came online. The downside is that I live in Japan, and its about a 14 hour difference in time.
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:22 AM
  #10  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (81)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,845
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

You could try the Tekin thread in the on-road section and/or this section. I realized you created this thread but your answer might be solved in one of those threads. It is just a suggestion.

Some Tekin experts, Randy Pike (works for Tekin) and Smoke 20 (I think that is his full name on RC Tech). While Smoke doesn't work for Tekin he is very helpful. Plus Randy is usually on here almost daily but there is another big weekend race so he might be attending that and not have internet access.

Good luck!
Kraig is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:23 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (71)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 663
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar issue with a brand new RS. I installed it in my car, did the initial endpoint setup and then hooked it up to my hotwire to tweak some settings.

The hotwire software said the software on my esc was out of date and would update. Appeared to go fine, but then when it rebooted the esc the software couldn't find it. anymore This left my esc in a similar condition to what yours is in.

I was able to connect to it with the hotwire, but every time it kept popping up a warning window saying something along the lines of 'some parameters are invalid'.

I kept trying to load defaults from within the Hotwire software, tried two different laptops and eventually it began working again. I'm not even sure the sequence of events that made it start working but it finally did, but if you can get into the hotwire interface, try resetting to defaults or updating your esc software to the latest.
negatv1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:28 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I see...check the solder connection to the cap, also make sure the polarity is correct.
lowroad is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:26 AM
  #13  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

No lights on turn on has nothing to do with your end points, nothing to do with the cap.

A few things to do first: Unplug the esc from the receiver, unplug the sensor harness from the esc side, attempt a power up.

If successful, turn it off, plug in the receiver lead into the receiver, attempt a power up. Results?
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:41 AM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I checked the Cap, and its good, and soldered correctly. If I disconnected everything, then plug the ESC into the battery, turn it on, no lights.
Repulse is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:50 AM
  #15  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Since you're posting you're online right now. Please hit me up on Live Chat:

http://messenger.providesupport.com/...insupport.html
Randy_Pike is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.