Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
The Official Atomik / Venom V2MR RedEdition® 2WD Race Spec Buggy >

The Official Atomik / Venom V2MR RedEdition® 2WD Race Spec Buggy

The Official Atomik / Venom V2MR RedEdition® 2WD Race Spec Buggy

Old 01-19-2014, 09:23 AM
  #661  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

Going to take the buggy out to lrh today. Will have a losi 22 2.0 to judge against that is really hooked up at that track. Will report back later today.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 11:45 AM
  #662  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: concord ca.
Posts: 230
Default

Originally Posted by dynastorm View Post
ha ha big balls! i figured they were bigger than 4.8mm. i measured at least 5.5mm. does any other company use the 5.7mm that would work?
some where here back some odd posts ago, "is change to different ball studs and ball cup ends like losi or kyosho or ?"
any way i came across some for a helicopter but i can not find them now,
search again later.
i checked Atomiks site (i'm going to call them) they do not have them in there
replacement and hop-up parts section, neither the hardware and fasteners
section.
Good Luck to you JP1................
Eric Summers is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 03:22 PM
  #663  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: danbury ct
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Eric Summers View Post
some where here back some odd posts ago, "is change to different ball studs and ball cup ends like losi or kyosho or ?"
any way i came across some for a helicopter but i can not find them now,
search again later.
i checked Atomiks site (i'm going to call them) they do not have them in there
replacement and hop-up parts section, neither the hardware and fasteners
section.
Good Luck to you JP1................
as far as the atomik site not showing the ball studs, I found them under the Gambler parts. I just searched the part # of the ball studs and thats what came up. I guess for now and simplicity Ill stick with the atomik ball studs and links. they just seem to be a little loose for my liking.
dynastorm is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 03:27 PM
  #664  
Tech Master
iTrader: (95)
 
zeakemedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,477
Trader Rating: 95 (99%+)
Default

The ball cups are lumped into a parts bag, can't remember which, so you buy them with other stuff as well. It's either the small parts bag or the shock parts bag?
Blake
zeakemedia is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 03:31 PM
  #665  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
jk racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 2,712
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I made the comment about losi/kyosho matching Atomik, and I was wrong, sorry about that.

I got mixed up with losi/kyosho matching HPI, not Atomik
jk racing is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 04:32 PM
  #666  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: danbury ct
Posts: 146
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

not sure if this was mentioned before but, it shows the v2mr as "discontinued" on the tower hobbies web site???
dynastorm is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 05:57 PM
  #667  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
jk racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 2,712
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like Tower isnt going to carry the car in stock. Still available directly from Atomik-RC.com
jk racing is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:21 PM
  #668  
Tech Initiate
 
MurdockJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 35
Default

Ran mid motor this weekend and can't get the gearing I need due to the chassis braces (17.5 motor). I could only run a 34t pinion, I would like to go up to a 38t. May have to build custom braces. I will say it handled great and had tons of steering.
MurdockJr is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 07:46 PM
  #669  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MurdockJr View Post
Ran mid motor this weekend and can't get the gearing I need due to the chassis braces (17.5 motor). I could only run a 34t pinion, I would like to go up to a 38t. May have to build custom braces. I will say it handled great and had tons of steering.
Can you post a setup? I ran mine at LRH, tacky indoor clay, and it was good until the track dried out a bit, then push city.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 12:22 PM
  #670  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
MOmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I too ran yesterday in a shakedown.

suspension working really well. Moved to middle hole r lower.
swapped from AE green to White BB
esc completely lacking brakes so reprogramming is needed.
running 69t spur but lacking torque going to drop from 34 to 30.
was also getting push but I think it was due in part to esc lacking braked to stop and allow car to rotate.

more to come.



Momo
MOmo is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 03:54 PM
  #671  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MOmo View Post
I too ran yesterday in a shakedown.

suspension working really well. Moved to middle hole r lower.
swapped from AE green to White BB
esc completely lacking brakes so reprogramming is needed.
running 69t spur but lacking torque going to drop from 34 to 30.
was also getting push but I think it was due in part to esc lacking braked to stop and allow car to rotate.

more to come.



Momo
I am going to try a few things tomorrow, losi lf springs instead of AE, and go back to atomik rear blocks. Probably will also try heavier oils, and 3 hole pistons. I also plan to grind down a front teat suspension mount holder to run 1 degree anti-squat.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 04:17 PM
  #672  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
MOmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm using v1 AE smallbore shocks. I had been using losi springs and swapped to ae. I did shave the area down around the fr shock mount.


Momo
MOmo is offline  
Old 01-21-2014, 01:54 PM
  #673  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

Tried running it with some different setups today. Not going the way I want it to, Too much push. going to go back to kit setup with 30 wt. Losi oil all around and try tuning from there, with no option parts from other cars. I think I did too much to it out of the box without trying it stock first.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 01-21-2014, 02:29 PM
  #674  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: new milford ct
Posts: 1,688
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

in rear motor the best setup i found (with stock parts) was 30wt losi oil and 4 hole pistons all around. car was great.
kaiser is offline  
Old 01-21-2014, 03:20 PM
  #675  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
MOmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I admit mine isnt 100% venom, but some of that was my initial doing.

I opted for some AE parts since I had spares to do it. It also allowed me to carry over my wheels and tires.

excited to test my adjustments, but not likely happening till Friday.


anyone seen this? Word on the street is you can tune with hobbywing card.


http://www.atomik-rc.com/Atomik-Red-...category=76759


momo
MOmo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.