R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2004, 09:33 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 203
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jg727211
Default Futaba 3PK question

Sorry for the double post, did not realize i was in a onroad thread before... need offroaders opinion.

I'm looking into getting a 3PK but have a question.
There is no feature built in to the 3PK to adjust the throttle/brake throw like in the 3PJ's (50:50 or 70:30). The 3PK defauls to 50:50 and there is no other option. Futaba claims that most newer ESC's control the throw. I looked at the setup instructions for the Quantum Comp & the GT7 and good ole Cyclones and it says to set the throw to 70:30 before set-up.
Someone mentioned i should use EXPO to do the same thing as 70:30 but i'm not sure EXPO gives a linear feel, just a more mellow feel around neutral.

I accidentally had my 3PJ set to 50:50 for my electric buggy and the throttle response was way too much so i'm worried about getting the 3PK. 50:50 is fine for 1/12th & gas & TC but not electric offroad.

For you 3PK owners running electric offroad: Do you find the throttle response linear or does it GO at the slightest throttle movement?

Thx,
John
jg727211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 10:52 AM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
xrayteamdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

John,

Hmmm, I never noticed that on the 3PK. I just switched from the 3PJS a couple months back and really couldn't tell the difference. Anyways, I think the speed controls are so good nowadays that it is almost a non issue. I will tell you, the 3PK is waaaaaaay more comfortable than my old Futaba. Rich.
xrayteamdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 10:09 PM   #3
Regional Moderator
 
FroBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,671
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I'm having a real problem with mine. The radio seems to think that about 3/4 of the throttle is deadband.

This is after the one touch setup with a gtx and everything is at nuetral on the controls. I can change it with sub-trim, throttle channel trim and gtx profiles, etc, but then the damn thing is so touchy, it looses all linear feel and is either all on or all off.

What's going on? has anyone else experienced this? How do I fix it. Is it because of the 50/50 electronic trigger throw? Why would the radio that is supposed to have it all leave this important adjustment out?
FroBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 01:05 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Puyallup, WA (Seattle Area)
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to motoazure
Default

I've used the 3pk to set up my cyclone and my GTX with no problems. I just set a new model - and followed the instruction on the GTX and it programmed correctly.

Could you have set the deadband to 75% on your 3pk on accident?

Just wondering because you mentioned you checked the sub-trim, trim and gtx profile, but you didn't mention if you checked the deadband on the 3pk - which you can adjust.
motoazure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 01:08 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Puyallup, WA (Seattle Area)
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to motoazure
Default

By they way, my GTX is very linear - I have my touring car set to almost a crawl at neutral. I have not adjusted the speed control at all - actually seems like I may need to adjust it so that I get more punch when I"m running stock touring.
motoazure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 01:19 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Puyallup, WA (Seattle Area)
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to motoazure
Default

Sorry for the multiple posts, one more thing.

I didn't set my EPA (High ATV, Low ATV) to the maximum settings for throttle and brake as it said to do - I left them at 0.

I basically didn't make any of the radio adjustments the GTX instruction recomended. I just started with a new model and ran through the programming.
motoazure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 02:07 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My 3PK's trigger is 70:30 but I bought mine about two years ago and maybe they changed it on the neweer ones.

You should have the EPA set to the max before the one button set procedure is done. That's so the ESC can recognize the siganl for the throttle.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 09:08 PM   #8
Regional Moderator
 
FroBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,671
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Where is the deadband setting? I didn't see anything about dead band in the instruction manual.
FroBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 10:21 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Puyallup, WA (Seattle Area)
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to motoazure
Default

I don't know if "deadband" is the correct word.

But if you have the THR-ACCEL set at 100% the throttle will jumpt to 40% (I think) of the full throttle as soon as move the trigger.
motoazure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 10:02 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
VONEREFLEXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Notre Dame Baby!
Posts: 180
Default

You can adjust the throttle and brake throws via TH EPA (ATV)
VONEREFLEXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 02:49 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Rich Panganiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 811
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

I've had my Futaba 3PK for a couple of months now, and my experience thus far is excellent. As far as the 70/30 adjustment from the older 3PJS, I don't think its neccessary. I basically adjust the feel of my speed control using the throttle exponential to control the throttle sensitivity and the EPA brake to control how much brake throw.

Anyways, by far the best radio I've ever had!
Rich Panganiban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Futaba 3PK emulberry Radio and Electronics 1 12-10-2007 09:52 AM
Futaba 3pk question 22dasher Radio and Electronics 7 12-05-2007 08:15 PM
futaba 2pl question parnelli97 Electric On-Road 1 08-25-2007 11:10 AM
Futaba 3PK-S question??? norman2cycle Electric Off-Road 5 04-10-2007 07:34 AM
Futaba 3PK Question jcrouse Nitro On-Road 12 09-06-2003 07:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net