Like Tree34Likes

RC10B4/T4 Forum

Old 07-04-2009, 12:20 PM
  #8506  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
B.A. Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,894
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by storytyme View Post
I am very new to the RC world and want to possibly get into racing. I have been driving a lot and crashing even more and breaking and learning. Once I snapped my chassis I have gotten a little bit more intelligent on flat speed vs. driving strategy.

My set-up is a T4 with a Castle Creations 4600kV ESC/BLmotor combo. My first initial questions is how long do I run it for to take the temps to get the gearing correct? I have heard 160 degrees is the max for motors.

Second question is drag brake. I understand what it is, but do most racers use this or is this a rookie thing to use. I have a ton of options on my ESC with the computer programming so I wanted a basic guideline to start. I can set it from 0% to 100%.

Last question for now is that I have snapped the body mounts that hold the body on the T4 more than I can count. I went to the NorCal races in Union City last week and saw racers using velcro to hold on the bodies but mainly in the buggie classes. Anyone use velcro for their T4's?

It was awesome watching the drivers at the NorCal races and it opened my eyes to where I want to be. Thanks.
yea 160 is good for a motor...as for drag brake, its all personal preferance..some people love it some people hate it, i personally dont use it...also the body mounts, u can velcro it but i just reccomend trying to land more toward the front insted of smacking the back on the ground, all comes with practice and you will learn more the more u race
B.A. Racer is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 12:50 PM
  #8507  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,266
Default

For the motor temp you would want to be within the limit right after the race.

so if racing is 5 min measure the temp right on 5 minutes, temperature shouldn't be more then 65C.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 02:13 PM
  #8508  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
B44Zane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
Keep the running cost in mind.
Good point... I guess I'll probably keep it nitro and get a B4. I forgot that I would need two 3 cells since my charger can only go to 3 cell.

I have a guy who wants to sell me a B4 ft for 100$
B44Zane is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 02:58 PM
  #8509  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 175
Default

Would you guys recommend getting front dirt hawg tyres for a B4?

I've got dirt hawgs on the back and i'm only bashing it on road, just wondering if they really make any noticable difference.

Thanks
Limerick91 is offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 03:01 PM
  #8510  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
B44Zane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Limerick91 View Post
Would you guys recommend getting front dirt hawg tyres for a B4?

I've got dirt hawgs on the back and i'm only bashing it on road, just wondering if they really make any noticable difference.

Thanks
No, they are not really worth the money... Just use the stock 'edge' tires.
B44Zane is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 01:53 PM
  #8511  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
W.E.D.Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,948
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

I thought I would drop some color in the thread for you AE fans....




...Jim
W.E.D.
Get Faster Gear
W.E.D.Jim is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 02:14 PM
  #8512  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
B.A. Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,894
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by W.E.D.Jim View Post
I thought I would drop some color in the thread for you AE fans....




...Jim
W.E.D.
Get Faster Gear
nice paints
B.A. Racer is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 02:15 PM
  #8513  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: dothan alabama
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

nice paint
imjammin is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:22 PM
  #8514  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
B44Zane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AK
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by W.E.D.Jim View Post
I thought I would drop some color in the thread for you AE fans....




...Jim
W.E.D.
Get Faster Gear
How much would it cost me to get a paint job like that? PM me


Hey guys, How do castle systems do racing? I have a spare sidewinder 5700 system laying around that I'm going to throw in to start, then maybe I'll just buy a mamba max later? Or is it fine to run non castle ESC's with castle motors?

Also, I have a question about ESC/Reciever compatability... My spektrum reciever was glitching REALLY bad with the Sidewinder system. I could run it for maybe 5 feet then the reciever just shut off, any ideas?
B44Zane is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 01:20 AM
  #8515  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,033
Default

Originally Posted by B44Zane View Post
Hey guys, How do castle systems do racing? I have a spare sidewinder 5700 system laying around that I'm going to throw in to start, then maybe I'll just buy a mamba max later? Or is it fine to run non castle ESC's with castle motors?

Also, I have a question about ESC/Reciever compatability... My spektrum reciever was glitching REALLY bad with the Sidewinder system. I could run it for maybe 5 feet then the reciever just shut off, any ideas?
By all means throw the basic Castle system in - but don't waste money on a Mamba max. Go for a proper sensored system. The sensorless controllers just don't have the fine low-speed control of the sensored systems.

Spektrum glitching is more often than not a voltage supply issue. You can try fitting the spektrum cap (external capacitor).
sosidge is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 04:10 AM
  #8516  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,266
Default

Originally Posted by B44Zane View Post
Or is it fine to run non castle ESC's with castle motors?
If it can run sensorless yes.

but the castle motors aren't very well suited to racing. nor is sensorless.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 08:52 PM
  #8517  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
W.E.D.Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,948
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Thanks guys, !

There is a contact link at the website listed in my signature for those who have been PM'ing, IM'ing, Twittering and Texting me. haha, .




...Jim
W.E.D.
Get Faster Gear
W.E.D.Jim is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 09:14 PM
  #8518  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

What is a good gearing setup for a T4 with a 17.5?
cjcoffroad is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 09:50 PM
  #8519  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
CClay1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monrovia, IN
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cjcoffroad View Post
What is a good gearing setup for a T4 with a 17.5?
When i ran 17.5 i ran 78/29 with a novak. That was on a small - medium track.
CClay1282 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 02:45 AM
  #8520  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
dirtdustingdavo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Apocalypse suburb of Robina
Posts: 1,738
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cjcoffroad View Post
What is a good gearing setup for a T4 with a 17.5?
78/29 the same as Clay. I'm currently running this gearing in my T4 with a Speed Passion motor and speedie. Seems to be the most consistent for me at least. I am about to try a Fantom motor though as I hear pretty good things about them.
dirtdustingdavo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.