Like Tree34Likes

RC10B4/T4 Forum

Old 02-27-2009, 09:23 PM
  #7006  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

yeah im kinda seeing alot of just jiberish talk going on.

there is a crap load of info in here.
im juts going to set it up to the manual for ft specs. till i get used to driving it.

right now im just reading through and taking notes. i still have to get my bl system and my dx3s.
dawg is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:20 PM
  #7007  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

On the setup sheet for the RC10 in the shock section "# Limiters", is the amount of plastic washers within the shock body. Is this correct?
sivob is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:48 PM
  #7008  
Tech Master
iTrader: (95)
 
afr0sch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,259
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sivob View Post
On the setup sheet for the RC10 in the shock section "# Limiters", is the amount of plastic washers within the shock body. Is this correct?
Yes
afr0sch is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:51 PM
  #7009  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Race my newly built T4 for the first time today, and I actually won the A-Main with it. The truck was great today. I ran it with Holeshots front and rear instead of the usual grooved tires. The B-FAST R/C diff was sooo smooth, I'm impressed with it . The T4 is still one of the funnest trucks to race. One thing I did different from my old T4 was race with a 4600kV rather than the usual 5700kV and I noticed a significant difference which surprised me. I thought they would be the same other than the top end. With my 5700 I had the throttle endpoint turned down to 65% and it was still stupid fast. With the 4600 today I started with the endpoint at 75% and ended up bumping it up to 100% by the 3rd qualifier and I was still full throttle down the back straight.

Strange for sure, going to go back to the 5700 tomorrow to see how the new truck handles with it.
rearviewmirror is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:54 PM
  #7010  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (23)
 
Gunner5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard IL.
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

any body try the and1 tire inserts by jconcepts for a T4 for indoor clay with some pink tapers how do they compare to bomb1 which everybody uses at our track and are the most common thanks.
Gunner5 is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:24 PM
  #7011  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rearviewmirror View Post
Race my newly built T4 for the first time today, and I actually won the A-Main with it. The truck was great today. I ran it with Holeshots front and rear instead of the usual grooved tires. The B-FAST R/C diff was sooo smooth, I'm impressed with it . The T4 is still one of the funnest trucks to race. One thing I did different from my old T4 was race with a 4600kV rather than the usual 5700kV and I noticed a significant difference which surprised me. I thought they would be the same other than the top end. With my 5700 I had the throttle endpoint turned down to 65% and it was still stupid fast. With the 4600 today I started with the endpoint at 75% and ended up bumping it up to 100% by the 3rd qualifier and I was still full throttle down the back straight.

Strange for sure, going to go back to the 5700 tomorrow to see how the new truck handles with it.
It's probably smoother with the 4600kV and full EPA because you're getting full resolution through the throttle range.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:58 PM
  #7012  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

How can I tell if I have the 25 or 30' front caster blocks? Step dad decided to run in to a parked car (1:1 scale) not exactly sure why... But his T4 lost and he broke a shock cap, a-arm, and the caster block, I'm trying to figure out if it has 25 or 30 on it already to keep it the same.

I know stock comes with 25 and I think Cavalleri setup says 30, he got his used so I don't know what the guy before used. If not I think I'll just get 30 and replace both sides so I know they are the same.
tazeat is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:49 PM
  #7013  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (23)
 
Gunner5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard IL.
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

well the 25 deg castor block dont say anything on them but when I bought the 30 deg castor blocks they said 30 on the inside with some kind of silver paint but its big and you cant miss the 30 on the inside of it believe me you prob got 25 but try the 30's if you race they will help.
Gunner5 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 08:59 AM
  #7014  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jon Kerr View Post
It's probably smoother with the 4600kV and full EPA because you're getting full resolution through the throttle range.
It's smoother for sure, honestly I probably turn better laps with the 4600 due to the car being overall smoother, I just miss that absolute overwhelming rush of power on the top end. I think I'll keep the 4600 for a while until it proves that it cannot win A-Mains.

I can mess with the throttle curves and punch control to see if I can make it seem "faster".
rearviewmirror is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:52 AM
  #7015  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (159)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,717
Trader Rating: 159 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rearviewmirror View Post
It's smoother for sure, honestly I probably turn better laps with the 4600 due to the car being overall smoother, I just miss that absolute overwhelming rush of power on the top end. I think I'll keep the 4600 for a while until it proves that it cannot win A-Mains.

I can mess with the throttle curves and punch control to see if I can make it seem "faster".
Did you re-gear coming from the 5700? The 4600 can take a lot more gear and will come to life.
Krio is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:54 AM
  #7016  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 175
Default

Anyone know if there is a wheelie bar made for the B4 by AE? Or if one from another model will fit?
Only ones i can find are on ebay from America, bit far away from me if anything goes wrong.
Limerick91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 08:07 PM
  #7017  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 123
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default advise

thanks for the advise... she is clearing the triple and things are pretty smooth at the moment... I do have to admit though her EPA is at 125 so it is topped out on the straight (but VERY smooth and fast for super stock on the short straightaway)....

we will definitely try the gearing you mentioned and experiment with the 81/24 combo and others...

again thanks for the advise...

her car is BRIGHT pink... at first i laughed and tried to convince her not to do it but i think the truck looks sweet!!! we don't have any pics but i'll try to post some up.

thanks.... jim
associatedrocks is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 08:14 PM
  #7018  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gunner5 View Post
well the 25 deg castor block dont say anything on them but when I bought the 30 deg castor blocks they said 30 on the inside with some kind of silver paint but its big and you cant miss the 30 on the inside of it believe me you prob got 25 but try the 30's if you race they will help.
Thanks, they are probably 25, I bought a set of 30 and they have a handwritten 30 in silver ink on them, I put those on my car and gave the 25s I had to my step dad, I think thats the only part I had different from the Cav 2007 setup, it handles much better now especially on higher speed corners, I'm quite impressed.

Originally Posted by Limerick91 View Post
Anyone know if there is a wheelie bar made for the B4 by AE? Or if one from another model will fit?
Only ones i can find are on ebay from America, bit far away from me if anything goes wrong.
I don't think AE makes one, you can check on rc10.com under parts. I'm pretty sure rpm or one of the various other aftermarket companies do though. Try searching ebay for "t4 wheelie bar"
tazeat is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:00 PM
  #7019  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Did you re-gear coming from the 5700? The 4600 can take a lot more gear and will come to life.
Nope.. same gearing that I had with the 5700. I thought the only difference was top speed. I'm running 18/87 currently, which was stupid fast with the 5700, seems just about right for the 4600 for turning smooth consistent laps and not too much low-end punch. The 5700 with that gear seems to have heaps of low end speed and a good top end rush but hard to run in the midrange without a lot of throttle control. So in summary, the 4600 is much easier to drive (with that gearing) it just lacks a bit of punch and top end, which isn't a bad thing necessarily.

What gear ratio do you recommend for the 4600?

rearviewmirror is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:17 PM
  #7020  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,792
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by associatedrocks View Post
thanks for the advise... she is clearing the triple and things are pretty smooth at the moment... I do have to admit though her EPA is at 125 so it is topped out on the straight (but VERY smooth and fast for super stock on the short straightaway)....

we will definitely try the gearing you mentioned and experiment with the 81/24 combo and others...
FWIW, the EPA setting doesn't have any significance unless it's change after you set up the speed control. 100% throttle is 100% throttle as far as the speedo is concerned. You do get better resolution as someone else mentioned.

Do gear that thing taller. You will get more punch with taller gearing. Sound's strange I know but BL motors don't act anything like brushed motors do. They like a bit of load, if you undergear them they are just dogs. If you like it now, you'll LOVE it with a few more teeth on the pinion. We run a 10.5 (10-15 min mains) class and we're all geared taller than that.
Davidka is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.