Like Tree34Likes

RC10B4/T4 Forum

Old 10-25-2008, 09:04 PM
  #5866  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Tubaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Front A-Arms, Front C-Hubs, and Rear Hubs. Perhaps a Rear Chassis brace if your track has large 1/8th scale size jumps where you can't downside the jumps.

That's all I've ever really messed up on my truck.
Tubaboy is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 09:42 PM
  #5867  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,357
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

You can use the stock hinge pins with the gt2 arms. You just have to cut them off with the dremel.

My main track had a double that I broke two arms on this summer. Never broke an arm before. I put the duece arms on and no trouble since.

I also broke two rear cvd's where they exploded at the coupler from shaft to axle. Rear one wheel landings seem to do it. lol Both times it landed cocked on one wheel then came down (no crash) and I nailed the throttle expecting to go and nothing. Kinda funny. I blame the power of the 6.5 and lipo, but I know it's the bad landings.
: )
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 09:45 PM
  #5868  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cleblanc View Post
i've been racing nitro since i began my venture into rc. i am about to get a ft rc10b4. what parts do you recomend i get for back up?


thanks
What he said above as well as a u-brace/rear bulkhead, the ballstuds like to break off on a hard side impact. A way to prevent this is to make sure the ballstuds dont loosen up and you could buy the Ti. ballstuds, i havent broken one since i replaced them with the Losi Ti. ballstuds.
Tater salad is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 11:35 AM
  #5869  
Tech Master
iTrader: (65)
 
GMS_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Palm Harbor
Posts: 1,700
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Anyone had any problems with the JConcepts Relux wheels on a T4. I ran em for the first time and my motor temps went up like 20deg. Its either that or the quick change hubs are binding somewhere but they feel fine and it runs fine. I noticed if the track is damp the insides of the rear Relux wheels load up with clay pretty bad. Just wondering if anyones had this problem...Thanks
GMS_Racing is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 11:16 PM
  #5870  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default A Great Speed Tip

Snap a wing shim in half and glue behind the wing mount....
tilts the wing more and developes
extra down force....
Attached Thumbnails RC10B4/T4 Forum-wing-mod-001.jpg   RC10B4/T4 Forum-wing-mod-002.jpg   RC10B4/T4 Forum-wing-mod-003.jpg   RC10B4/T4 Forum-wing-mod-004.jpg   RC10B4/T4 Forum-wing-mod-005.jpg  

Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 11:22 PM
  #5871  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
astroboy403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: camarillo, ca
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Snap a wing shim in half and glue behind the wing mount....
tilts the wing more and developes
extra down force....
True, but less top speed. more wind resistance. its a drag!
astroboy403 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 11:27 PM
  #5872  
Tech Master
 
teambighead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,540
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Snap a wing shim in half and glue behind the wing mount....
tilts the wing more and developes
extra down force....
Wow.......where'd you get that idea??
teambighead is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 11:36 PM
  #5873  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

I stole it from a team driver
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 12:30 AM
  #5874  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
jobo_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Banos, Laguna, PH
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TorchAZ View Post
I have a B4 with a Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz radio and rx. Whenever I have a servo plugged into the rx, the servo makes a weird noise like its getting bad feedback in it or something. I recently just put in a hitec 645mg servo and the noise is louder plus the servo is getting really hot!

Anyone know what's goin on or how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance for any help on this.
What was the previous servo you used before the Hitec 645MG?

I hope your transmitter is not set in HRS mode. When in HRS mode, you have to use digital servos.

The Hitec 645MG is not a digital servo and therefore the transmitter should be set to operate in PPM mode.

If the transmitter is in HRS mode and you used an analog servo, the servo (and maybe the receiver) can get damaged.

The receiver will auto-detect whether it should operate in HRS or PPM mode based on what's set in the transmitter.
jobo_ph is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:49 PM
  #5875  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, Tx.
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quick question.. approx. gearing for B4 w/ novak 6.5 ?? track 100 x 40... 2 cell lipo. FDR suggestions?
BillySnarf is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:17 PM
  #5876  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
TorchAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Talking

Originally Posted by jobo_ph View Post
What was the previous servo you used before the Hitec 645MG?

I hope your transmitter is not set in HRS mode. When in HRS mode, you have to use digital servos.

The Hitec 645MG is not a digital servo and therefore the transmitter should be set to operate in PPM mode.

If the transmitter is in HRS mode and you used an analog servo, the servo (and maybe the receiver) can get damaged.

The receiver will auto-detect whether it should operate in HRS or PPM mode based on what's set in the transmitter.
Actually, you are so right! I already had someone pm me with that same theory which was actually my problem. Thank you so much for your response! Previously, I was using a futaba s3004 which I kept stripping the gears on. That's why I went up to the hitec 645mg. I didn't realize the HRS was only for digital servos. Once I changed it over to PPM it stopped making noise and runs without overheating. Thanks for the reponses!
TorchAZ is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 03:35 PM
  #5877  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by astroboy403 View Post
True, but less top speed. more wind resistance. its a drag!

I do this to my cars pending on the track layout, If you have a straight that you are slowing down on it will only help you. It's a good tip from my experience.

wild cherry you need to some better paint.
Jason Pelletier is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 03:56 PM
  #5878  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default Mono Chromatic Paint job

I spent 5 minutes on it ...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 04:46 PM
  #5879  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: University Place WA
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ky_savage View Post
I'm just getting back into the R/C scene and am wondering if there has been any talk of a T5/B5?? If there has been, sorry for overlooking a thread
I don't think AE is looking at moving to a T5/B5 yet. The B4/T4 are still dominant at the National/World level. Until they start getting beat consistently, I don't see them moving to a new gen (this is the thought from my local AE team driver as well). With that being said, it seems they are starting to see some competition from Kyosho again. Losi seems to be a non-factor any more with all the RTR stuff they have. It's good to see the K-cars coming back again. I remember back in the day (late 80's, early 90's) Kyosho was the BOMB!
B-Main is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 04:51 PM
  #5880  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I don't see how losi is a non factor.
Jason Pelletier is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.