Like Tree34Likes

RC10B4/T4 Forum

Old 07-21-2008, 09:53 PM
Tech Master

Default Diff rebuild, when and how often?

Hey guys, just wanted to ask a question about the diff on the T4. I've got the RTR T4RS and although I've updated the necessary things for racing (electronics, tires) I haven't touched the stock servo or the differential. I've taken the car pretty much completely apart since I've had it, even opened the diff case and taken a look inside out of curiosity, but I have never built or maintained one.

I've been racing the truck for a couple of months, probably have 6-7 race nights on it now, as well as some practicing. I'm just wondering how long does the differential go before you need to do any maintenance on it, or rebuild it? What would be some warning signs that it needs maintenance?
Old 07-21-2008, 10:04 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

After about 2 months of racing you should rebuild the diff. If you have raced 7 weeks with it is about time. Are you racing mod or stock. When you spin the axles does it feel smooth or crunchy?
Old 07-22-2008, 12:09 AM
Tech Legend

make sure

check your slipper after , your diff will not last if adjusted too tight.
Old 07-22-2008, 12:17 AM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by crazy4wdracer View Post
After about 2 months of racing you should rebuild the diff. If you have raced 7 weeks with it is about time. Are you racing mod or stock. When you spin the axles does it feel smooth or crunchy?
Yeah, that's why I was starting to wonder - it feels and sounds a little "gritty" when I turn a wheel and definitely when I rev the motor and the axles spin, just doesn't sound real smooth (racing stock 27t, incidentally). Must mean it's time to rebuild...so what do I replace? I saw the kits online, not sure what I'm replacing though.