Like Tree34Likes

RC10B4/T4 Forum

Old 10-29-2006, 10:20 AM
  #1501  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,792
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

"Too bad there isn't a good substitute for the B4 fronts. B3 wheels have radically different dimensions, and Losi fronts are totally different."

On my last B4 I used Losi steering spindles and front wheels. The spindle must be drilled to fit the Associated hingepin and the steering arm is longer which increases ackerman effect. I felt that the car steered more smoothly and could be driven more aggressively off of the corner but running the rear hole on the steering link brings it closer to stock. I'm not sure why I haven't changed my current B4 over.
Davidka is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 04:13 PM
  #1502  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
W.E.D.Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,950
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

I have never had trouble with the A/E wheels, at least not any more then when I ran TL stuff.

They are all made from the similar material and have similar design, as far as material dimensions, bracing, etc.

Funny thing is I have heard of TL drivers complaining that the wheels are not as good as A/E ones, wobbly, bend in crashes, etc., LOL.

The difference in the wheel bead is a problem when using TL tires and A/E wheels though for everyone. I trim off about 1/3 to 1/2 the bead and they mount right up. I like a snug fit so glue holds on three sides, but if it is too tight it will make it tuff to seat the rubber before the glue sets, not good. This makes it important to spend a few seconds test fitting the tire before reaching for the glue bottle.



I try not to do too many crazy mods that the team guys aren't doing, this way I don't need to be a mechanical engineer or chassis tuning expert and can use their set ups, etc.

, Jim
W.E.D.Jim is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:17 PM
  #1503  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Anyone know if the internals of a non-threaded shock from a Team kit will swap into the threaded bodies on the Factory team kit? Is it a direct swap or are other parts needed?
calyakker is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:29 PM
  #1504  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

All the internals are the same. The only difference is the fact that they have threads on the outside.
WheelNut is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:34 PM
  #1505  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

I thought so. Thanks!!
calyakker is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:32 PM
  #1506  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i just found a cure for anyone who has leaky seals in the bottom of the shock body. i had a problem with my shocks blowing out. i used the shock limiters for the small washers and the same thick one thats is normally used then i used the kose white o-rings and they are just bullet proof. just a little input for anyone that has this issue. also i used green slime. just my .002 cents
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:52 AM
  #1507  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
schmidt452's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mayville WI
Posts: 449
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Got a Link for those o-rings? I have been very happy the blue MIP o-rings, Zero leakage.
schmidt452 is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:56 AM
  #1508  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,792
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know of an alternative to the stock transmission top shaft? I would think a hard annodized version like Losi's should be out there somewhere.
Davidka is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 08:35 AM
  #1509  
Tech Regular
 
Doughty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default

Originally Posted by calyakker
Anyone know if the internals of a non-threaded shock from a Team kit will swap into the threaded bodies on the Factory team kit? Is it a direct swap or are other parts needed?
you do get the unobtanium shafts with the FT shocks, I think you get the std shafts with the team kit.
Doughty is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 09:07 AM
  #1510  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

no i dont have a link for the orings but if you were to call my work teambrood racing. just go to the site for a number we could send you some we have a couple packs left. and also the team kit has standard shafts as they are not part of AE factory team line. the ft kit come with all the AE ft parts on it.
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:07 AM
  #1511  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by Davidka
Does anyone know of an alternative to the stock transmission top shaft? I would think a hard annodized version like Losi's should be out there somewhere.
Let me know if you find one...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 05:00 PM
  #1512  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Originally Posted by Doughty
you do get the unobtanium shafts with the FT shocks, I think you get the std shafts with the team kit.
I already have the unobtanium shafts. I have the team kit which I bought a while back and have slowly upgraded to ft stuff as needed. Pretty much everything I wanted except the threaded shock bodies. I would've gotten the ft kit but I happened across a hobby shop that was closing shop and sold me the team kit for $100. I couldn't pass that one up.
calyakker is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:48 PM
  #1513  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

This may sound like a stupid question but what is the thread size for the stock front axles on a team T4? The manual says 4-40 as well as tower, but 4-40 nuts will not thread on.
calyakker is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 08:02 PM
  #1514  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
old_fart_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post

Originally Posted by calyakker
This may sound like a stupid question but what is the thread size for the stock front axles on a team T4? The manual says 4-40 as well as tower, but 4-40 nuts will not thread on.
Its 5-40
old_fart_racing is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 10:46 AM
  #1515  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
Let me know if you find one...
are you wanting a custom aluminum top shaft? if so, that is do-able as i have a couple for my trucks. mine work great and let me use whatever type of gear on want on the topshaft( aluminum, composite, steel, titanium).
sleepy23 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.