R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   Help me pick my first 2WD buggy (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/521808-help-me-pick-my-first-2wd-buggy.html)

stephpar 06-09-2011 03:32 PM

Help me pick my first 2WD buggy

Hey there...

I'm considering buying one of these 2 Team Associated 2wd buggies. I'm totally new to buggies...but not RC. I'll try out some racing but mostly bashing given how busy I am with my kids. Which setup looks better? Either kit can be had for about $325

F/s Ft B4
Bind and drive
4600 sidewinder combo
Hitec 7940
My lap Pt
3100 rx
Extra Body(no paint)
Wings
Arms and assorted parts including RPM bumper
Extra wheels and tires

----OR----

b4.1
tekin rs speed control
tekin redline 10.5 motor
hitec 7955 servo
lots of extra rear and front tire sets
spare A arms, shock towers, pistone toe plates, shock shafts
backup diff

What's better, faster, etc? Help the newb please!!!

Thx
Steph

Cpt.America 06-09-2011 03:47 PM

For bashing it doesn't really matter... if i were going to bash a buggy, i would just buy a nice condition used 4.1 RTR and have at it. When you get to a race track and want to compete is when everything changes.

Cpt.America 06-09-2011 03:48 PM

Originally Posted by stephpar (Post 9233216)
My lap Pt

for bashing? :weird:

stephpar 06-09-2011 04:02 PM

Originally Posted by Cpt.America (Post 9233285)
For bashing it doesn't really matter... if i were going to bash a buggy, i would just buy a nice condition used 4.1 RTR and have at it. When you get to a race track and want to compete is when everything changes.

Bash to start but might race a little. One kit comes with the transponder. Is one kit better than the other obviously for racing?

Thx

TailsNeon556 06-09-2011 04:34 PM

Originally Posted by stephpar (Post 9233368)