Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekin Pro 4 Short Course motor Sneak Peak >

Tekin Pro 4 Short Course motor Sneak Peak

Tekin Pro 4 Short Course motor Sneak Peak

Reply

Old 12-20-2011, 08:41 AM
  #2446  
rcq
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 129
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
How fast do you want to go or how big is your track.

For really tight techinical tracks the 4000 maybe a better choice. The 4600 is great for open tracks, speed runs or higher traction.

There is our Track:
http://rc-cars.lt/index.php?option=c...d=401&Itemid=2
rcq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:47 AM
  #2447  
Tech Adept
 
Evilgies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 114
Default

I raced the pro 4 4600kv for the first time last weekend.
I'm a fan now, best motor for SC 4x4 ive ever owned.
And I owned 4 other motors before this one.
Evilgies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:48 AM
  #2448  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,856
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcq View Post
4600
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:07 AM
  #2449  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcq View Post


Im lovin the ship rope for piping, Seen that quite a few tracks around the world. Never on this side of the pond however. Curious where do you guys get it ? Is it Not usable by Sea going vessels ?
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:22 AM
  #2450  
rcq
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 129
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
Im lovin the ship rope for piping, Seen that quite a few tracks around the world. Never on this side of the pond however. Curious where do you guys get it ? Is it Not usable by Sea going vessels ?
Our tracks is about 300km to the dock. Ships are changing it like they are old (out of date). So we get it for free it.
rcq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:56 AM
  #2451  
Tech Master
iTrader: (79)
 
specgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,302
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know if the pro4 4000kv is fine for use with LRP's new ix8 esc? Just got it in from AE and in theory it should work fine, right? Being an 1/8 scale esc?
specgie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:01 AM
  #2452  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,793
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

It should, make sure to remove any timing the esc has internally.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:10 AM
  #2453  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,856
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by specgie View Post
Anyone know if the pro4 4000kv is fine for use with LRP's new ix8 esc? Just got it in from AE and in theory it should work fine, right? Being an 1/8 scale esc?
Anything rated for an 8th scale should work just fine. Just make sure the 8th scale ESC is rated for 2S!
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 02:20 PM
  #2454  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Randy, thank you for the support and quick replys with me. just received the bearings today. thank you and tekin
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:33 PM
  #2455  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Randy Pike you have PM
adubaz7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 08:14 PM
  #2456  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
snellemin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Send me a link to what you're using now...I'll take a look.
Better late then never heh. Here's a pick of some of the smaller motors that I use. I did get me a Tekin 4600 as you can see. I haven't used it yet though. Currently running the B50-5s Hacker in the RCM CRT.5. I had to add some caps to the ESC and use the torque control on the esc. I still need to find that elusive 2s 5000mah lipo that can deliver what I need.

Rotor magnet of the 4600 measured 19mmx20mm.




Last edited by snellemin; 12-29-2011 at 09:44 PM.
snellemin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:07 PM
  #2457  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35
Default

I have a CC MMP esc at the moment, and was thinking of getting a tekin pro4 4600kv. What is required to operate the motor? BEC or any other stuff?

Want this to work until I can get the money for a RX8 esc which wont be until summer more than likely.
TNKrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:34 AM
  #2458  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,231
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

i think your going to need to get a BEC anyway.. thats the only way to keep them from browning out under high amp draw..
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:03 AM
  #2459  
JPG
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
JPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lower Alabama-ROLL TIDE!
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just soldered up my new Pro4 4600 and RX8 in my new SCTE. Seems to run fine in forward, but has a jerking-non smooth reverse. The more power you give it the smoother it becomes, but at slow speeds its almost as if the motor is slightly hesitating causing the whole truck to display this jerky vibration.

Any help or ideas, or is this normal?
JPG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:07 AM
  #2460  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,793
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Not normal, make sure your sensor harness is full seated. IF it is, try unplugging it and see if this changes the condition.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service