Like Tree5Likes

SC10 4x4 Thread

Old 05-23-2013, 12:52 PM
  #34186  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
GraphiteChassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
Could be the motor shifted on you if you were not using any loctite. Hopefully that solves the issue for you.
That ended up being my problem... went through 2 spur gears in a row. New motor plate and new motor screws w/ loctite fixed it.
GraphiteChassis is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 01:13 PM
  #34187  
Suspended
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TomErickson
Could be your clicker or the slipper. Was there a clicking noise?
yes there were clicking noise
it only happened few times
tryandfok is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:22 PM
  #34188  
Tech Addict
 
TomErickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 669
Default

Originally Posted by tryandfok
yes there were clicking noise
it only happened few times
OK. Then your Clicker is loose. You need to use CA or Locktite to keep it from loosening up.
TomErickson is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:32 PM
  #34189  
Suspended
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TomErickson
OK. Then your Clicker is loose. You need to use CA or Locktite to keep it from loosening up.
clicker is the one by front tensioner?
tryandfok is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:49 PM
  #34190  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: tx rchq
Posts: 451
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

After one full year of running finally wore out a belt
9turn is offline  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:06 PM
  #34191  
Tech Addict
 
TomErickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 669
Default

Originally Posted by 9turn
After one full year of running finally wore out a belt
Pretty good. I had to replace a belt once. It was before the chassis brace when I cased a huge jump on an 8th scale track that flexed the chassis so much the belt popped off and got chewed up. The belt is still usable but has a kink in it so I saved it for a spare.

What failed on yours? Teeth, delaminated, snapped?
TomErickson is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 08:01 AM
  #34192  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Cherry, or any of you guys do you run a 4 Pole motor with your LRP Flow?

I called LRP and they told me it should be fine, so i thought i may buy one of the HW 4 pole SCT motors and try one out.

Currently i got a 4.5 Novak ballistic, pretty much the only brushless i will run, and new Flow on the way.

Thanks, Krom.
Kromulous is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 08:52 AM
  #34193  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Krom

As understand things a 4 pole will perform fine with the Lrp FLOW

Personally use a 550 2 pole ..
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 08:55 AM
  #34194  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by tryandfok
yes there were clicking noise
it only happened few times
You only have to tighten down the lock nut till it bottoms out for the clicker .

This will give you full time 4w drive which works best for most .


No need for lock tight or what ever , if the nut still comes loose ?

Replace it for a new one ...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 10:59 AM
  #34195  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
Krom

As understand things a 4 pole will perform fine with the Lrp FLOW

Personally use a 550 2 pole ..
Cool, then i will have options, always good to have options.

And you cant beat the new LRP Flow, i have 2 upgraded SXX's i run, and love the brakes, and no boost timing. I have had a real hard time getting used to the brushless stuff, since returning to RC.

My 4.5 is the 550 can as well, excited to run it, soon...

Thanks, Krom.
Kromulous is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 11:38 AM
  #34196  
Suspended
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 4 (75%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
You only have to tighten down the lock nut till it bottoms out for the clicker .

This will give you full time 4w drive which works best for most .


No need for lock tight or what ever , if the nut still comes loose ?

Replace it for a new one ...
do you mean tighten down the lock nut all the way until its kinda tight?
tryandfok is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 01:19 PM
  #34197  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Don't torque it tight , just snug is plenty good .

If someway the lock nut is coming loose ?

Throw it away and replace...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 01:32 PM
  #34198  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Jordan Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
Krom

As understand things a 4 pole will perform fine with the Lrp FLOW

Personally use a 550 2 pole ..
The Tekin Pro 4 540 can 4-pole is 50 grams lighter then the Reedy 550 2-pole.

With your ultralight theory, you should be running a 540 4-pole...
Jordan Anderson is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 01:38 PM
  #34199  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,395
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jordan Anderson
The Tekin Pro 4 540 can 4-pole is 50 grams lighter then the Reedy 550 2-pole.

With your ultralight theory, you should be running a 540 4-pole...
With it being ultralite, maybe a 540 Pro2 would work better. Less weight but not so much beastly initial torque that the 540 4 poles offer.
Cain is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 01:44 PM
  #34200  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by Jordan Anderson
The Tekin Pro 4 540 can 4-pole is 50 grams lighter then the Reedy 550 2-pole.

With your ultralight theory, you should be running a 540 4-pole...



We already thought about that ...


If I did use a 4 pole 540 can ?

I would remove the 1/2 oz I use by the spur gear . (Helps to offset the extra weight on the 550...)

yeah know ? I be another 1/2 oz lighter , ummmmm .....


When you get try the set-up ?

The truck gains new agility on the corner, clearing jumps and landings ...
Wild Cherry is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.