Like Tree5Likes

SC10 4x4 Thread

Old 11-14-2012, 06:12 PM
  #31186  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
dug44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Barkhamsted, Ct
Posts: 455
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cody227
The b44 is a good car for sure but i dont think it would be a good base for a sct. It would be too light and fragile, what we need is a light rc8-sc8 conversion like the truck from outlawrc. But i would like a new developed truck aswell. Would be really cool to choose from a belt driven and shaft driven truck.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...-sc-truck.html

While reading your post, i was almost positive i seen it before.... Just had to find it.
dug44 is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 08:07 PM
  #31187  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by moto44
Ride Height SC10 4x4. Guys I was setting the ride height on my truck and was curious at what point of the vehicle do you measure. I normally would measure right below the A-arms in the frt and the same in the rear. When I do this to the SC10 4x4 and go with the suggested 24mm in the frt and 23mm in the rear the car sits super low. Is that correct?
Measure from the side, the middle section of the chassis, right at where the front section and the back section sandwich to it.
sugs is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 08:08 PM
  #31188  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by associatevalley
What was the problem with brass insert diff cases??
They tend to wear quickly, especially when you don't limit your shock up travel.
sugs is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 08:00 AM
  #31189  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by keddy
Who said anything about the Internet.....

If my shop doesn't have the part, it must be ordered.
When their supplier has old stuff in stock and sends it, it sucks.


It's amazing how much this guy assumes.


Lets make another easy assumption then ..


When your shop gets the part you ordered ?


Hopefully it is the newest version & you won't buy the old version ...

Get use to seeing running changes....
Ae is always improving their products even after production .


.
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 09:52 AM
  #31190  
Tech Adept
 
keddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St.Catharines Ontaio
Posts: 179
Default

Still doesn't solve the problem of being able to get the newest part %100 of the time...
keddy is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 10:20 AM
  #31191  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,405
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

lol. the "..." makes it all better ...
Cain is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 10:41 AM
  #31192  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (99)
 
tom2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tom2tone
Guys.. I got a question. My steering link keeps popping off the ballstud. It took me out of a qualifier last week and put me way back in the main. Then it happened 2 more times today. I replaced both the ballstud and the ball cup links. What can I do to fix it? Is there a way to put captured set-up like the rc8's have?

Thanks

anyone else have this issue? I've found these:

http://shop.dubro.com/products/produ...3.0.0.0?pp=12&

But you still need to drill and tap the hole for the turnbuckle to fit. Looks like it captures the ball better. Just curious if anyone has any suggestions??
tom2tone is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 12:13 PM
  #31193  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In a VAN down by the RIVER
Posts: 805
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tom2tone
anyone else have this issue? I've found these:

http://shop.dubro.com/products/produ...3.0.0.0?pp=12&

But you still need to drill and tap the hole for the turnbuckle to fit. Looks like it captures the ball better. Just curious if anyone has any suggestions??
More than once I have gone to the Dubro ends for "problem" linkages.
Sofa King is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:51 PM
  #31194  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

So anyone wanna see pics of my sc10 4x4 conversion to 2wd?
Prostreet314 is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 06:20 PM
  #31195  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by tom2tone
Guys.. I got a question. My steering link keeps popping off the ballstud. It took me out of a qualifier last week and put me way back in the main. Then it happened 2 more times today. I replaced both the ballstud and the ball cup links. What can I do to fix it? Is there a way to put captured set-up like the rc8's have?

Thanks
I had this problem when i upgraded to the FT steering rack. I found using a shock rod end, #91056 fixed that problem. Stock ball cup on the inside, shock rod end installed on the outer end. Make sure to use a small washer in between the caster block and rod end. I've been running this way for over 4 months without any problems.
Good luck.
Wiskers
Attached Thumbnails SC10 4x4 Thread-sam_1166.jpg  
Wiskers is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 06:33 PM
  #31196  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,405
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Prostreet314
So anyone wanna see pics of my sc10 4x4 conversion to 2wd?
sure!
Cain is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 07:20 PM
  #31197  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (99)
 
tom2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Wiskers
I had this problem when i upgraded to the FT steering rack. I found using a shock rod end, #91056 fixed that problem. Stock ball cup on the inside, shock rod end installed on the outer end. Make sure to use a small washer in between the caster block and rod end. I've been running this way for over 4 months without any problems.
Good luck.
Wiskers


Thanks for the info!! I upgraded to the FT rack as well and never had this problem before. So this looks like a good way to do it as well. Thanks again



So after some work, I'm hoping I've got it right. My LHS didnt have the 3mm ball link, so I bought the 4-40 link and the du-bro 3mm drill and tap set ( part number #372). I tapped the ball link and installed it on the turnbuckle. It was a tight fit and really had to turn it towards the end of the threads. I believe the 3mm will work better but this is what I've got for now.

Wiskers.. Your method looks easier and cheaper, as long as you have the extra shock ends handy. I spent 3 trips to my LHS, about 5 bucks for the ball links and screws and another 9 bucks for the drill and tap set. But it was lesson learned.


Here is a pic of what I got done, I also like it because it looks close to stock and how the link is raised above the caster block. I'm just afraid the supplied screw might not be long enough. It just barely reaches the end of the nut inside the caster. So I put some thread lock on it and will test it this weekend. I'll report back if anyone is interested.



Last edited by tom2tone; 11-15-2012 at 08:29 PM.
tom2tone is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 09:59 PM
  #31198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,250
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default



Well. I figured out my Truck. Now it's just my consistency that lacked that race. (I choked)
SC Shaun is offline  
Old 11-16-2012, 01:05 AM
  #31199  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
sure!
Alrighty then. Just gotta finish up a few details then I'll post up pics
Prostreet314 is offline  
Old 11-16-2012, 07:56 AM
  #31200  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SC Shaun


Well. I figured out my Truck. Now it's just my consistency that lacked that race. (I choked)

Great job, you are obviously running very competitive times with the truck. Have you ever posted your setup and what kind of track conditions you run on?
sugs is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.