Like Tree5Likes

SC10 4x4 Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 09:24 AM
  #29686  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Ran my truck three days this week ..

Having a blast with & no shelving it for me....


will be gluing her all together though , always working making it even faster than before .
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 10:00 AM
  #29687  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,250
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by turners dad
I have exactly the same motor/esc/BEC and I posted a couple weeks back about mine doing this same thing.. I changed over to my other mmp/bec and cleaned all of the deans connecters male and female ends. I put the questionable mmp/bec on my sons rock crawler, not sure which action cured my problems but it fixed the brown outs.
I am running gensace 5,300mha 65c stick lipos also just to mention.
Take a close look at the connections for black gue build up, if so clean it off, also check the bullets that plug into the battery, I tear half the fuzz off a q-tip and use simple green then dry out the hole with another q-tip. Just a thought that may help.
Good luck with it.
I'll clean up my connections just for insurance. Thanks!

Originally Posted by Jtipsy
If using bullets make sure they are the solid ones like castle sells. I had issues with the basket style collapsing on its self and causing me a lot of issues.
Always Castle bullets only for this guy! Thanks for the suggestion though.

Originally Posted by Cain
did you try a different receiver or even radio setup?
No because I firmly believe it's not the radio. The speedo understands throttle input. (red brake, green throttle) and has full steering.

Originally Posted by ryanpatrickgore
do you run spektrum? or savox?

same probs, ccbec wouldnt even fix it! probs for a long time drove me crazy.
I dumped spektrum and castle.
no probs
Spektrum radio and spektrum servos. I will not dump my spektrum radio but these voltage hogging servos are going.

I've never had a problem for almost? TWO YEARS with this exact setup. It just blows my mind how it can be such a problem 'now' and with two different esc's/bec's

Thanks for all the suggestions. My RX8 is modified and in there now but this is still bugging/worrying me.
SC Shaun is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 10:13 AM
  #29688  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,396
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SC Shaun
No because I firmly believe it's not the radio. The speedo understands throttle input. (red brake, green throttle) and has full steering.


Spektrum radio and spektrum servos. I will not dump my spektrum radio but these voltage hogging servos are going.

I've never had a problem for almost? TWO YEARS with this exact setup. It just blows my mind how it can be such a problem 'now' and with two different esc's/bec's

Thanks for all the suggestions. My RX8 is modified and in there now but this is still bugging/worrying me.
I had that same belief as well till I started gettng brown out around a specific part of a track. Hopefully your experience though is solved by the RX8.
Cain is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 10:30 AM
  #29689  
Tech Addict
 
BorackBasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tustin, Ca
Posts: 533
Default

Originally Posted by btown
will the gen ace saddle packs work with this truck.
gen ace batteries gets the truck moving but its so mushy.. you need at least 50-60c rating.. i purchased some trak power 60c 5400's and wow what a difference! hello power
BorackBasher is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 01:44 PM
  #29690  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Had the wv state championships this weekend.My brushleshobbies,castle powered SC10 4x4 was able to TQ and win by over a lap.The truck was dialed and very fun to drive.
xxxntwv is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 01:53 PM
  #29691  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
ryanpatrickgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TRCR
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Sweet good job man
ryanpatrickgore is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 03:38 PM
  #29692  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (59)
 
nmdesertracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Mexico=BFE
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Raced last night for the first time with the exotek front locker and RC shox dual Garodisc. all I can say is wow I love it Power really was hooking up good on the clay track. Took 2nd in the A main.
nmdesertracer is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 03:44 PM
  #29693  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,396
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxntwv
Had the wv state championships this weekend.My brushleshobbies,castle powered SC10 4x4 was able to TQ and win by over a lap.The truck was dialed and very fun to drive.
congrats! Can you post what conditions were like including jumps, and what setup you went with?

Nice to see a win with a low price speedo!
Cain is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:27 PM
  #29694  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
congrats! Can you post what conditions were like including jumps, and what setup you went with?

Nice to see a win with a low price speedo!
The esc has worked great.Runs cool and has been dependable so far.Track is a large 8th scale track but only half is ran for sct.The half ran by sct has medium size jumps with a few large jumps.I would say medium traction.I based my setup off kinwalds and made changes to suit myself.I made a setup sheet but its too large to upload on rctech.If anyone is interested send me a pm and i can email it to you or if someone knows how to shrink it they can post it.
xxxntwv is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:40 PM
  #29695  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
johnbugman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: saint petersburg, florida
Posts: 450
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default setup champ.

guys I got a killer hybrid setup That will go up tomorrow evening stay tuned... as soon as i can figure out how to upload a setup sheet to here.
johnbugman is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:58 PM
  #29696  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mHOUPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06
Center diff, FTW!!
What is the "center diff" I keep reading about? There's the front and rear, does the center replace the slipper, where does it go? Is there three total?
mHOUPS is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:01 PM
  #29697  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,396
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Its made by RC Shox. the latest version is basically a ball diff that has the ability to adjust the diff action via pins. here is a direct link:

http://www.rcshox.com/sc1044-center-dif-v2/
Cain is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:39 AM
  #29698  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,250
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default



Thank you Castle Creations for your bulletproof products for bashing and all purpose running. But unfortunately you can't handle the requirements of racing for me.

Time to sell these buggers off!
SC Shaun is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 06:13 AM
  #29699  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
gangstafish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Beach New York
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lodhammerdin
Theres a guy at my track with a losi and pro4 4600 (dont know his settings) but he can barley keep up with me down the straight and cant clear the big double on the back straight. I run a lrp 550 5.5 with 3 boost and 0 timing. Is this because my truck is lighter or he has it turned way down?
He must have it turned down. I have the same setup in my Losi. I can clear a triple with ease. And the throttle on my radio is at 75%.
Attached Thumbnails SC10 4x4 Thread-mcguyver-549.jpg  
gangstafish is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 08:48 AM
  #29700  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

can't recommend to anyone turning down the throttle EPA


When you do ?
You not only kill top speed , but also bottom power .
So if your having trouble clearing jumps running a turn down EPA ?

This is why the truck is missing those jumps ...


summary

Don't use a ban aid to fix poor throttle control !

It will only make the truck harder to drive ...
Wild Cherry is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.