Like Tree5Likes

SC10 4x4 Thread

Old 09-10-2012, 05:30 PM
  #29536  
Tech Initiate
 
RCJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 48
Default

[QUOTE=Cain;11193348]manual starting setting isn't bad at all.



I can not seem to find any suggestions in the manual for gearing of a 4000kv 4 pole motor
RCJesus is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 05:33 PM
  #29537  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by JEFFs SC10
Did you forget to 'punch it' ?

Punch it is the only way I know Jeff ....


got the fastest lap for proof
I'm sure your impressed.......
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 05:50 PM
  #29538  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

LOL
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 06:27 PM
  #29539  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=RCJesus;11195937]
Originally Posted by Cain
manual starting setting isn't bad at all.



I can not seem to find any suggestions in the manual for gearing of a 4000kv 4 pole motor
I run a 13, good place to start. You may end up at a 14 with a 4000kv 4 pole, watch temps.
fq06 is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 06:50 PM
  #29540  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=RCJesus;11195937]
Originally Posted by Cain
manual starting setting isn't bad at all.



I can not seem to find any suggestions in the manual for gearing of a 4000kv 4 pole motor
I'm running a 15 with a 3800kv castle on a medium sized track.depending on the track size you will be between 12 and 16.There really is no magic pinion size.I'd start with a 14 and check temps after a few min.
xxxntwv is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 08:07 PM
  #29541  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
xDIRTYx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal 562
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

well shit, the rebuild kit I got has the same .2 shim in it. Think im just going to double up the shims with the new gear. Or is the .1 going to make that much of a difference?
xDIRTYx is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 08:33 PM
  #29542  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xDIRTYx
well shit, the rebuild kit I got has the same .2 shim in it. Think im just going to double up the shims with the new gear. Or is the .1 going to make that much of a difference?
.4 is good for now with fresh gears. Drive it for now but call AE and they will mail four .5's to you free for when the gears wear in.
fq06 is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 08:52 PM
  #29543  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by xDIRTYx
well shit, the rebuild kit I got has the same .2 shim in it. Think im just going to double up the shims with the new gear. Or is the .1 going to make that much of a difference?

Extra Tips .....

If your old shim's are already coned out ?
Save them !


Install those first, and as they were when you removed the sun gear.
Then add the extra .2mm shim on top of .


Don't forget to ditch the smaller .2mm shim on the out drive cups ....



Don't get too up set bout the .5 shim , this mod will do great and you will be happy a racer ....
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 09:22 PM
  #29544  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
ryanpatrickgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TRCR
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06
Exactly the same outdrives. Rear gears were more worn than the front... time to replace before problems come up. Next fluid change.
All original stuff. I reshimmed the rear diff the first day I ran it. Never reshimmed the front but it's tight as day one still.
Hmmm
ryanpatrickgore is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 09:49 PM
  #29545  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
xDIRTYx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal 562
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06
.4 is good for now with fresh gears. Drive it for now but call AE and they will mail four .5's to you free for when the gears wear in.
Will do tomorrow.

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
Extra Tips .....

If your old shim's are already coned out ?
Save them !


Install those first, and as they were when you removed the sun gear.
Then add the extra .2mm shim on top of .


Don't forget to ditch the smaller .2mm shim on the out drive cups ....



Don't get too up set bout the .5 shim , this mod will do great and you will be happy a racer ....
Awesome thanks for the reassurance, Thats what i ended up doing. Just finishing it up cant wait to get it out to the track tomorrow.

Im not sure what oil it had in it prior but it seemed like worn out ae grease.

Any tips for tightning the belt? Im assuming tight enough not to slip but not too tight to where it binds?
xDIRTYx is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:06 AM
  #29546  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
ryanpatrickgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TRCR
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Ran the truck with the exotek chassis last night for the first time. It sure is plante now and feels good. More stable and I managed to get may fasted lap yet on our new layout. Dropped from a 18.3 to a 18.2. Lol not the biggest improvement, but still...
Looking forward to more driving. Might remove my up front weight that is next to the servo next time
P.s. the truck flies great and so predictable in the air now
ryanpatrickgore is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:19 AM
  #29547  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (295)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,408
Trader Rating: 295 (100%+)
Default

what conditions are you running in ryanpatrickgore?

you definitely do get pushed around as much with the exotek chassis.
Cain is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:23 AM
  #29548  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

got some speed in the truck back. had the belt to tight i back it off some thanks
vito is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:26 AM
  #29549  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
ryanpatrickgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TRCR
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Trcr. Medium bite indoor clay smooth. Big straight to a sweeper, couple big triples. S turns. Etc.. George posted a vid a few pages back with his buggy on it.
Yea nobody was pushing me I was the pusher man last night.
Haha jk
ryanpatrickgore is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:39 AM
  #29550  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default TRCR N/w GOLD CUP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoOl-...layer_embedded



Current TRCR layout
Wild Cherry is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.