Like Tree5Likes

SC10 4x4 Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 10:10 PM
  #20116  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
ktm11rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Tight fit for the RX8 but after trimming off the tab that holds the receiver box it fit. Cant wait to drive it!


ktm11rider is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 10:16 PM
  #20117  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (142)
 
ilanstylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 4,615
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Looks good, I thought about putting my rx8 on that side but opted to put it on the other side to try and balance weight a little better....... Um is it me or does it look like your chassis brace has flexed some already in the center?
ilanstylz is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 10:42 PM
  #20118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
ktm11rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Thats just the flash on the camera. I ended up just putting it on the motor side because i didn't want to cut into the case to make it fit under the belt. I figured if needed i can add weight to the other side to make up for it.
ktm11rider is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 10:46 PM
  #20119  
iTrader: (8)
 
CoyoteSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,311
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JLinney
No need to welcome me to any certain page Coyote. Have seen what you have to offer and I think I will pass.

------
I broke another Body post mount today. That's #2. Also, brand new SC10 body (from my sc10 ft kit) split straight down the back of the body last week. Seems too perfect to be natural. I know it's a stocker but that really bites.

Edit: And my first original left side nerf bar just broke 50% off. /shrug

Last edited by CoyoteSlash; 03-27-2012 at 02:08 AM.
CoyoteSlash is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:51 AM
  #20120  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Wow.

I am new to the RC hobby, and bought this kit, without realizing it is a kit, and I need to build the blasted thing.

So, thanks for this thread, and the links to youtube. I am learning to hate the manual. It is taking many things for granted, that a newb like me won't know.

I will get this done, somehow. Right now I am stalled because I noticed that the steering servo said on the package Ni-Cad only... so now I need to head back to my local shop and see what the deal is, and see about some diff fluid.... But that will probably depend on the answer to why they sold me the servo, when I purchased different batteries with the same purchase.

I am sure I will be back to ask questions, assuming I can't find it in this 1,000 page thread somewhere....
JeeperDarren is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:59 AM
  #20121  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hawkes Bay. New Zealand
Posts: 292
Default

[QUOTE=sugs;10514921]CF rod keeps the flex in check no problem, I noticed no extra flex at all after the mod(just taking out the central divider and dremeling the rear upper brace until the battery fits).

Thanks for the info, I have cut up the rear of my track, I'm making a 3mm plate that fits inside the chassis, holds the saddle pack and runs under the ESC, the front section will be heavier than the rear, it will also come up and pick up the rear gearbox mounts with a brace thru to the front, hard to explain but will take picks when done, looking to weigh the same as the exotec chassis, I'm also keen to hear about how the new FT slipper goes, I did have one idea I may try, I thought you could pin the front with the pin mod, and decouple the rear drive, that way it should drive the front harder than the rear, any thoughts? I did remove the pin for my last meet, HD pad inside and stock outside, if was pretty good and beat most Losi's on our slick track, also scored a 5.5 tekin 550 to try, have the CC 3800 in there at the mo but want to try the 550, I have removed the stupid rear top mount and will now fit a stock heat sink and fan to the motor, should be much better than the stock setup, when you remove these parts you see how weak it all is really.
RossNZ is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:24 AM
  #20122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
Evil Genius jr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone used rear shock bodies on the front shocks to get more droop like people do on the durangos?
Evil Genius jr. is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:31 AM
  #20123  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 1
Posts: 1
Default

thanks for post.
hasretyeli is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:51 AM
  #20124  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
FRONTI3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ktm11rider
Tight fit for the RX8 but after trimming off the tab that holds the receiver box it fit. Cant wait to drive it!

I figured it would be possible. Glad you got the RX8 to fit the same as I did.

Steel turnbuckles on your Factory Team? The FT manual show Ti.
FRONTI3R is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:15 AM
  #20125  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,396
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JeeperDarren
Wow.

I am new to the RC hobby, and bought this kit, without realizing it is a kit, and I need to build the blasted thing.

So, thanks for this thread, and the links to youtube. I am learning to hate the manual. It is taking many things for granted, that a newb like me won't know.

I will get this done, somehow. Right now I am stalled because I noticed that the steering servo said on the package Ni-Cad only... so now I need to head back to my local shop and see what the deal is, and see about some diff fluid.... But that will probably depend on the answer to why they sold me the servo, when I purchased different batteries with the same purchase.

I am sure I will be back to ask questions, assuming I can't find it in this 1,000 page thread somewhere....
what servo did you buy exactly? Never heard of a servo being for nicad only, not sure how that even would matter as its the voltages that the servo sees. In general, most of the ESCs do between 5.5 and 6.0V to the receiver which is sent to the servo.

The things I would suggest you pickup right away if its the standard kit is:

- Garodiscs or a clutch basket
- Swaybar kit front and rear
- Front spring kit (put either white or blue front spring on the rear)
- Chassis brace

I also got the 12mm ball studs to give me more options for putting shims under the studs.
Cain is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:06 AM
  #20126  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
kjohnsiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: auburn, wa
Posts: 1,593
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Can someone help out?
Building the ft and went to roll the belt onto the front pulley. I tightened the clicker to the locked full time fwd possition. Cant turn the pully, its locked. Is this normal? The diff turns free...
thanks
kjohnsiii is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:09 AM
  #20127  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Should be able to.turn freely, sounds like clicker isnt assembled right.
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:14 AM
  #20128  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
SoCaL081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 316
Posts: 202
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default SC10 4x4 Brushless System Help

So I recently picked up a SC10 4X4 roller and am going to use it to mess around the house and maybe take it to the track every once and a while. I happen to have a Novak Super Sport brushless sytem with a SS4300 brushless motor laying around and want to use it. Will that brushless system work ok to just mess around with it? I am wanting to get a 550 motor to put in it but want to use it til then. Let me know what you think. Thanks
SoCaL081 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:23 AM
  #20129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
darryl80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Cool

will losi 8ight 2.0 buggy front and rear shocks work on my sc10 4x4?
darryl80 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:25 AM
  #20130  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
RCNurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cornelius, OR
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

As far as I know that should be fine, you don't need a 550 in the SC10 4x4
RCNurse is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.