Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
SC10 SHOCK REBUILD TIME >

SC10 SHOCK REBUILD TIME

SC10 SHOCK REBUILD TIME

Reply

Old 05-06-2011, 05:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default SC10 SHOCK REBUILD TIME

Searched the past posts and wondering what the latest technique is to rebuild stock rtr sc10 shocks. Bought the truck 5 weeks ago and it is time. Looks like 3 out of 4 are leaking. Previous posts indicate Associated shocks are known to leak. Thanks in advance on your tips on the best way to rebuild these shocks.
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:37 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
racer53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TEXAS[best state around]
Posts: 1,587
Default

If they are leaking rebuild them with a new shock rebuild kit, and make sure you coat the o-rings with Associated's Green Slime.
racer53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:48 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
millerman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shawano WI
Posts: 226
Default

If you want to go it CORRECT so they never leak again check out this website.http://users.telenet.be/elvo/12/8/1.html
Yes it is 12 pages long and will suck ( why i Have not done it yet) I just keep filling them because i am lazy and some day will have V2 shocks.
millerman23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 08:59 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Best way is buy a new rebuild kit. Coat everything with Green Slime and Before you put the snap ring or whatever in the shock to hold the o-rings in, make sure they are all seated ALL the way down and THEN put the snap ring holder in. Coat the Rod with some shock oil or Green Slime before you slide it back in. Thats about it. You cant expect too much life out of a rebuild, 3- 4 race nights is all. You can refill them once, but after that the seals will pretty much be shot and wont hold so you need a rebuild.
trickedout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default

Anyone know if getting V2 bodies, bleed caps, and V2 rebuild kit is worth the effort? Will they still leak like stock shocks? Thanks again.
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:26 AM
  #6  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,102
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Well worth it IMO, much easier to build/rebuild and leak much less if at all. You can get the V1's to not leak but it's a PIA IMO and they still won't be as smooth.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:44 AM
  #7  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by Murray100 View Post
Anyone know if getting V2 bodies, bleed caps, and V2 rebuild kit is worth the effort? Will they still leak like stock shocks? Thanks again.
Not much of a performance benefit switching to V2, mostly convenience as the V2 are quick & easy to rebuild compared to the V1 ....
Wild Cherry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:54 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (23)
 
Matt Ward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Bloomfield, PA
Posts: 597
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Murray100 View Post
Anyone know if getting V2 bodies, bleed caps, and V2 rebuild kit is worth the effort? Will they still leak like stock shocks? Thanks again.
They are alot easier to work on and maintain. I also think they are more consistent.
Matt Ward is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 12:16 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
mickeymouse93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Murray100 View Post
Searched the past posts and wondering what the latest technique is to rebuild stock rtr sc10 shocks. Bought the truck 5 weeks ago and it is time. Looks like 3 out of 4 are leaking. Previous posts indicate Associated shocks are known to leak. Thanks in advance on your tips on the best way to rebuild these shocks.
Buy V2 shocks
mickeymouse93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 12:19 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
bdyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I've had to rebuild my shocks once - after I blew out the rears my first time racing. When I rebuilt them I made sure to coat the new o-rings with shock oil and were firmly in place, and I used the old o-rings as an external limiter to prevent full compression (and thus preventing blowouts). 8 weeks later I'm still running on the same build of shocks.
bdyche is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 08:33 AM
  #11  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oakton, va
Posts: 90
Default

I'd go with the V2.
paulwhat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:59 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default

Thanks for all the suggestions. Guess I will get bleeder caps and the V1 rebuild kit. Cost of V2 shock bodies too much at this time. If anyone has any more suggestions on ways to reduce leaking, let me know. In googling, alternative o rings etc have been mentioned. Thanks again.
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:11 AM
  #13  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Use the Ae rings on both the V1 & V2 , others will only bind ....


Just because the shock leaks a little is no big on the performance, just top off your shocks if you have not run in a while to get them proper level of oil.

Way cheaper than new shocks ...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:40 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

can you reuse the shock pistons and the limiters? the rebuild kit doesn't come with them. i didnt know this and have all 4 disassembled right now. son of a %[email protected]!&
boobie817 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:54 PM
  #15  
Tech Apprentice
 
putterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 56
Default

yes you can reuse them. I don't anyone other than maybe the most anal of racers would change them every time. Just clean the old oil off and reuse them.
putterx is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service