Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
SC10 increase in speed.... >

SC10 increase in speed....

SC10 increase in speed....

Reply

Old 04-13-2011, 02:28 PM
  #16  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default

Definitely not drag racing speed. My grandson has a brushed Rustler and can not keep up with the brushless guys. I want to be able to clear jumps that do not have much of a straightaway before them.....need torque to give it the gas right before the jump and make it. Hope that helps.
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:49 PM
  #17  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
sircrashalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bumping into the B hopefully
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

try recalibrating the esc. Its a pain and you will need the directions but I have seen more than one of those esc's not calibrated correctly from the factory, once they have been recalibrated they had a ton more power.
sircrashalot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:45 PM
  #18  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default

Originally Posted by Murray100 View Post
Do not want to go with 3S batteries. Anyone confirm that this rig will have plenty of torque/speed with 2s 40C lipos? Are 40C's ok? Looks like I may order today so any quick info would be great. Mostly wanting to hear about speed and torque of stock brushless motor. Thanks again all.......
Any brushless owners care to comment????????
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:45 PM
  #19  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
PhotoGreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fraser, MI
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sircrashalot View Post
try recalibrating the esc. Its a pain and you will need the directions but I have seen more than one of those esc's not calibrated correctly from the factory, once they have been recalibrated they had a ton more power.
+ 1

Recalibrating and resetting the acceleration profile made quite a difference.

As others have stated, Lipo is the way you need to go.

I've run NiMH on my SC10 and lipo.. Lipo runs had more torque and with less sag.
PhotoGreg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:40 PM
  #20  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (37)
 
GreyBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Kenosha
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I would absolutely agree with the recalibration suggestion. My first SC-10 was this same set up and out of the box it was really a pig. Then someone pointed out that I hadn't calibrated the ESC. Part of the calibration is setting the throttle profile. Default from the factory is "soft". There is a "standard" setting and a "maximum" setting. Once I had the throttle set to maximum, there was plenty of power. Compared to the "soft" factory setting, at maximum, this thing is plenty fast.

Pete
GreyBeard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 05:50 PM
  #21  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Drew74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Well I went to the lipos...wow what a difference...plus changing the ESC to standard and maximum whoa !! Greased lightning !! Thanks for the input guys !!
Drew74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:57 PM
  #22  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
sm_bailey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

put a castle sct kit in like i did and you will love it!!!!
sm_bailey77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:04 PM
  #23  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Default

Be sure to adjust your slipper clutch. Someone at the track today heard mine slipping and adjusted it for me. Night and day difference. I can now clear doubles and probably triples with some more practice. Thought about going with the Castle 3800 but in no hurry now.
Murray100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:05 PM
  #24  
Tech Adept
 
millerman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shawano WI
Posts: 226
Default

my vote also goes for lipo. But if no one wants to make that jump you can also go for an 8 cell hump pack. My cuz races with them on a tight indoor just because he likes the weight it gives him. that and he likes constant throttle.
millerman23 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service