Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New here and had a question about my SC8E

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 12:14 PM
Tech Initiate

Default New here and had a question about my SC8E

I have a sc8e with a mamba max pro esc and the 2200 kv motor. My question is, can I run a 6s lipo with this setup or will i need to go tho the mamba monster?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Old 04-03-2011, 01:07 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...a_max_pro.html

That a was a tough one.
Old 04-03-2011, 01:37 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by Yosh70

That a was a tough one.
Yeah. I looked that up before I posted but half the guys at my lhs said that it wont handle a 6s with the 2200kv motor and half said it would. Thats why i came here to ask, guy.
Old 04-03-2011, 05:29 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by Anti Hero
Yeah. I looked that up before I posted but half the guys at my lhs said that it wont handle a 6s with the 2200kv motor and half said it would. Thats why i came here to ask, guy.
There is an info tag that comes on the esc NIB that states the following;

"The Castle motor and controller included with this vehicle will provide thrilling performance when used with the 15/46 stock gear ratio and battery voltages up to 4s (16.8V charged).
If you wish to use packs with voltages higher than 4s or a pinion with more than 20 teeth with the stock 46t spur gear, you must replace the Mamba Max Pro with a larger capacity controller such as the Mamba Monster."

So there's your answer, the rest is up to you....
Old 04-03-2011, 07:28 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)

The MMP was included in the SC8e to keep prices down, so it's geared very conservatively to drop the amp rating to an acceptable level.

The MMP is a 1/10 esc.

In my SC8e I changed out the MMP for a MMM and now run it geared as it should be, 21/46 on 4s and everything is a lot happier.
Old 04-03-2011, 09:28 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by Jakk