Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
what esc for 4 pole motor >

what esc for 4 pole motor

what esc for 4 pole motor

Reply

Old 03-30-2011, 07:46 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: portugal
Posts: 91
Default what esc for 4 pole motor

hello.
i am waiting for a 3800kv 1410 castle motor for my slash 4x4.
what esc works good on this motor beside sidewinder sc and mamba max pro?
hobbywing sc esc are rated for 4 pole motors also?

best regards
timaneli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 07:54 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timaneli View Post
hello.
i am waiting for a 3800kv 1410 castle motor for my slash 4x4.
what esc works good on this motor beside sidewinder sc and mamba max pro?
hobbywing sc esc are rated for 4 pole motors also?

best regards
I'm running the hobbywing xerun 120A ESC with mine and it works great. I think any brushless ESC will work with the motor as long as the ESC is rated for fairly high current. The sidewinders are burning up in a lot of the 4x4 SC trucks. Lots of people complain about the MMP, but I also have one of those and have had no trouble at all with it. I may pop it in there because it is lighter and quieter.
chiro972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:01 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,168
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

mmp works great on the 3800, only issues I've read were with ballistic 550's. I've run mine with the tekin 550 4.5, as well as 540 sensored with out problems.
8ight-e is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:12 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: portugal
Posts: 91
Default

my problem is that people having issues with the sidewinder.
i have a vxl that as been work flawless on every motor i used with it, even with novak 5.5 hv with sensor connected worked good but in this case for the 4 poles one form castle some people say canīt work good.

the hobbywing one i was thinking is this:

http://global.ebay.com/HOBBYWING_EZR...510793116/item

i had several good experiences with previous versions of these escīs and this is half the price of a mmp.

regards
timaneli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:50 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,461
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The ESC really can't tell the difference between a 2-pole and a 4-pole. 1 rotation of a 4-pole looks like 2 rotations of a 2-pole. I don't own a VXL, but I don't see any reason that it wouldn't work on a 4-pole motor.
kufman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:00 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kufman View Post
The ESC really can't tell the difference between a 2-pole and a 4-pole. 1 rotation of a 4-pole looks like 2 rotations of a 2-pole. I don't own a VXL, but I don't see any reason that it wouldn't work on a 4-pole motor.
It can make a difference if the now doubled RPM's exceeds the rating of the ESC.
lowroad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 12:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: portugal
Posts: 91
Default

the vxl is 200 amps rated and witout any motor limits so i will give it a try!
timaneli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 01:58 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,461
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

It can make a difference if the now doubled RPM's exceeds the rating of the ESC.
Originally Posted by timaneli View Post
the vxl is 200 amps rated and witout any motor limits so i will give it a try!
The rating it might exceed is the maximum rpm racing on the controller. The ESC can switch the poles up to some maximum rate. If you hit the limit you motor just doesn't go any faster. With a 4-pole motor, this maximum switching rate translates into half the RPM that it would on a 2-pole motor. So if some controller can run a 2-pole at 100,000 rpm, it can only run a 4-pole at 50,000 rpm and a 6-pole at 33,000 rpm. This was a bigger problem when brushless controllers first came out, but I haven't seen an issue with this in several years.
kufman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:07 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: portugal
Posts: 91
Default

Originally Posted by kufman View Post
The rating it might exceed is the maximum rpm racing on the controller. The ESC can switch the poles up to some maximum rate. If you hit the limit you motor just doesn't go any faster. With a 4-pole motor, this maximum switching rate translates into half the RPM that it would on a 2-pole motor. So if some controller can run a 2-pole at 100,000 rpm, it can only run a 4-pole at 50,000 rpm and a 6-pole at 33,000 rpm. This was a bigger problem when brushless controllers first came out, but I haven't seen an issue with this in several years.
thankīs very much for that clear explanation!
i will try than and see how it runs!

regards
timaneli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:54 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (411)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 411 (100%+)
Default

Have you had a chance to run the 4 pole motor with the VXL ESC? If so, how did it go?
jathomas3 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service