Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Turnigy 5.0 5000 hardcase not fitting SC10!???? >

Turnigy 5.0 5000 hardcase not fitting SC10!????

Turnigy 5.0 5000 hardcase not fitting SC10!????

Reply

Old 03-10-2011, 06:34 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Turnigy 5.0 5000 hardcase not fitting SC10!????

i just bought my sc10 brand new brushless rtr....

I then tried to fit a 5.0 5000 hardcase turnigy battery.... it doesn't even fit ''in height , and second problem the wires are in front of the battery

i personally never had a car that didn't have a large enough tray but anyways

let me know if the battery strap is adjustable or im missing something???
it can't be possible as 3s are way more thicker
hayabusafmw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 06:54 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
BigRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Courtice, ON
Posts: 250
Default

Start by replacing the screws at the rear of the battery holdown with ones that are about 1/4"-1/2" longer. Put a notch in the foam spacer and run the wires out towards the rear of the truck.
BigRM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:15 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
PhotoGreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fraser, MI
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I use the STRC battery hold down, and loosen up the thumb screws a few turns. Works well.

Greg
PhotoGreg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:26 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
jhess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: sarasota Fl
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default battery hold down.

The kit specs say to loosen the rear hold down bolts. If you do that you should be ok. I dremel out the round parts in the back to allow movement of the batts. I have run the 5200s and they give me about a half hour of run time with a moderately geared 3800.
jhess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:39 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
GizmoJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 999
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I know its extra money, but i would suggest the FT battery hold down.

You can get it to sit about any height you want, and have all the fwd/aft adjustment you want for playing with weight distribution.
GizmoJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:06 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
bdyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You can loosen the screws on the front and rear to raise the height for the lid. Cut a small notch in the battery foam for the wires to lay in, and then you will be set. I'm running the same truck with the same battery without any issues.
bdyche is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:05 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GizmoJunkie View Post
I know its extra money, but i would suggest the FT battery hold down.

You can get it to sit about any height you want, and have all the fwd/aft adjustment you want for playing with weight distribution.
what's the name of the kit so I can order it. I have some turnigy's that don't fit
jurquhart is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service