Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
tenshock sc401  short course Brushless MOTOR >

tenshock sc401 short course Brushless MOTOR

tenshock sc401 short course Brushless MOTOR

Old 04-04-2012, 11:45 PM
  #1276  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cavg View Post
Here are the rotor measurements i just took.

I suspect that the shaft that the pinion goes on has come out a bit from the rotor itself. There is a slight color difference just where the driver is.

Anyone able to verify these measurements?
My SC411 has 2 small spacer, like shims, that go on the front of the rotor, behind the front bearing. I don't see them in your pic. Do you have those? You can see them in this picture.

kazuaki is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 08:50 PM
  #1277  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
UPStrucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Trying to hook my sc401 up to a MMP. MMP wires are labeled "line A,B,C" but the motor has no labels and the wires are different colors than the ones on the MMP.

How do I know what wire are supposed to be connected? I'm assuming when I'm looking at the back of the can A,B,C should go in order? Blue = A, Yellow = B and Black = C?

Thanks for the help.
UPStrucks is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 08:59 PM
  #1278  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: India
Posts: 480
Default

My VXL and SC8 ESC were coded as Blue-A, Yellow-B, Orange-C. So, I expect the Tenshock to be the same with red replacing orange.
iamahuman is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:13 PM
  #1279  
Dan
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,596
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

For sensorless, it doesn't really matter. If it runs backwards, you just swap two of the wires.
Dan is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:51 PM
  #1280  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: India
Posts: 480
Default

Well, it can be a bit of a pain if you solder directly onto the terminals.
iamahuman is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:01 PM
  #1281  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UPStrucks View Post
Trying to hook my sc401 up to a MMP. MMP wires are labeled "line A,B,C" but the motor has no labels and the wires are different colors than the ones on the MMP.

How do I know what wire are supposed to be connected? I'm assuming when I'm looking at the back of the can A,B,C should go in order? Blue = A, Yellow = B and Black = C?

Thanks for the help.
My 411 wires are
A=blue
B=yellow
C=red
I would imagine that the 401 is the same except black for red.

Last edited by fq06; 04-09-2012 at 10:21 PM.
fq06 is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:10 PM
  #1282  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
ItsSunnyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UPStrucks View Post
Trying to hook my sc401 up to a MMP. MMP wires are labeled "line A,B,C" but the motor has no labels and the wires are different colors than the ones on the MMP.

How do I know what wire are supposed to be connected? I'm assuming when I'm looking at the back of the can A,B,C should go in order? Blue = A, Yellow = B and Black = C?

Thanks for the help.
hook them up an any order if it spins in reverse then switch the 2 outer wires around (its a non sensored motor)
ItsSunnyB is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:13 PM
  #1283  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
ItsSunnyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan View Post
For sensorless, it doesn't really matter. If it runs backwards, you just swap two of the wires.
Didnt see this before my post but yeah hes right its a non sensored you can even leave it and set it in you esc to spin counter clock wise
ItsSunnyB is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:27 PM
  #1284  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ItsSunnyB View Post
Didnt see this before my post but yeah hes right its a non sensored you can even leave it and set it in you esc to spin counter clock wise
How does the lrh track compare to westcoast? Bigger or smaller, tighter or more open?

There pretty close to each other and checking oit a new track is always good.
fq06 is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:36 PM
  #1285  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
ItsSunnyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
How does the lrh track compare to westcoast? Bigger or smaller, tighter or more open?

There pretty close to each other and checking oit a new track is always good.
never raced at westcoast but i know its smaller, its a smooth track high bite, not too sure if its tighter or open never raced at west coast to compare, but they stay open late on friday latest they have been known to stay open is past 3am ( no need to rush got time to tear down your car and still get a good amount of time to practice), and all the people there are chill and very helpful........ they are having a series race with the yard

http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...obbies-61.html


http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...s-yard-rc.html


think the first race was moved to the 15th of april........ but check it out the track is pretty dope....
ItsSunnyB is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:35 PM
  #1286  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ItsSunnyB View Post
never raced at westcoast but i know its smaller, its a smooth track high bite, not too sure if its tighter or open never raced at west coast to compare, but they stay open late on friday latest they have been known to stay open is past 3am ( no need to rush got time to tear down your car and still get a good amount of time to practice), and all the people there are chill and very helpful........ they are having a series race with the yard

http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...obbies-61.html


http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...s-yard-rc.html


think the first race was moved to the 15th of april........ but check it out the track is pretty dope....
Out of town on the 15th but I'll head out on an open practice day during the week or something. Hobby shop there?
fq06 is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:37 PM
  #1287  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
ItsSunnyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
Out of town on the 15th but I'll head out on an open practice day during the week or something. Hobby shop there?
yeah there is a hobby shop nothing crazy but they have one..
ItsSunnyB is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:40 PM
  #1288  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by ItsSunnyB View Post
never raced at westcoast but i know its smaller, its a smooth track high bite, not too sure if its tighter or open never raced at west coast to compare, but they stay open late on friday latest they have been known to stay open is past 3am ( no need to rush got time to tear down your car and still get a good amount of time to practice), and all the people there are chill and very helpful........ they are having a series race with the yard

http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...obbies-61.html


http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...s-yard-rc.html


think the first race was moved to the 15th of april........ but check it out the track is pretty dope....
NITRO BUGGY INDOORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm there!!!!!!!!!!!!
fq06 is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:46 PM
  #1289  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
NITRO BUGGY INDOORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm there!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh, the yeard is outdoors. Now I got 2 tracks I need to get to.
fq06 is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 06:09 PM
  #1290  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
ItsSunnyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fq06 View Post
Oh, the yeard is outdoors. Now I got 2 tracks I need to get to.
you can run ur nitro at LRH too indoors (just not during the series)
ItsSunnyB is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.