Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
tenshock sc401  short course Brushless MOTOR >

tenshock sc401 short course Brushless MOTOR

tenshock sc401 short course Brushless MOTOR

Old 09-01-2011, 12:27 AM
  #766  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
i was leaning towards the sensor and sensorless esc as there is room in the future for sensor motor althought im not sure if i will ever go there. i prefer the trackside tunning card as you can mess with it every where, but it is what it is. there is a dealer on ebay that was selling a lot of those sc8 for 70 bucks shipped i believe, but they are sold out unless this is a new replacement?

http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-ezrun-150a-pro-esc.html
I would say, just get the 120a Ezrun don't need a 150a one.
I will prolly be reassuring that it's a higher amp rating but unless you run a super hardcore heavy/large vehicle, a 120a is all you need.
v1ral is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 09:25 AM
  #767  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by v1ral View Post
I would say, just get the 120a Ezrun don't need a 150a one.
I will prolly be reassuring that it's a higher amp rating but unless you run a super hardcore heavy/large vehicle, a 120a is all you need.
A Losi SCTE/Tenshock combo routinely pulls more than 150 amps on 2s. Just sayin
Ridley is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 12:26 PM
  #768  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (140)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,130
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
A Losi SCTE/Tenshock combo routinely pulls more than 150 amps on 2s. Just sayin
which is probably why the 70A mamba max pro has difficulties with this motor...
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 12:40 PM
  #769  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
which is probably why the 70A mamba max pro has difficulties with this motor...
I think the MMP is actually rated somewhere around 120 amps even though castle refuses to give exact specs. The main issues of the MMP isn't supplying the motor with power though, it's with supplying the esc and servo with power, and with it's actual firmware. The Tenshock isn't the only motor the MMP has issues with though, You can pretty much add any motor bigger than a 540 2 pole to that list when trying to run on 2s lipo
Ridley is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 12:43 PM
  #770  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (140)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,130
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
I think the MMP is actually rated somewhere around 120 amps even though castle refuses to give exact specs. The main issues of the MMP isn't supplying the motor with power though, it's with supplying the esc and servo with power, and with it's actual firmware. The Tenshock isn't the only motor the MMP has issues with though, You can pretty much add any motor bigger than a 540 2 pole to that list when trying to run on 2s lipo
http://www.castlespecialprojects.com...ntrollers.html

i agree though. i could never get my mmp with a BEC to NOT cog with a novak 4.5 550. it wasn't horrible cogging, but it cogged at WOT.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 01:01 PM
  #771  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
http://www.castlespecialprojects.com...ntrollers.html

i agree though. i could never get my mmp with a BEC to NOT cog with a novak 4.5 550. it wasn't horrible cogging, but it cogged at WOT.
That chart is odd. It lists the MMP max input at 12 volts, but lists on their site as 6s compatible. They also taunted there old mamba max esc to be rated at 100 amps continuous. I have a feeling even castle themselves have no idea, lol.

I have a MMP I've been using in my 2wd sct to sell yet, and then I'll be completely free of castle products
Ridley is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 02:15 PM
  #772  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Cptn Cartwheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
meh this isnt drag racing or road racing. temps vary up and down as the track dries and it gets wet again as the day goes by.
sure it is. A turn is a turn, whether it's on a type of pavement or a type of dirt or clay. Every space between them is a drag race, that's why we're buying Castle 1410's and Tenshocks and Tekin 4 poles. Proline stuff works good out here at most of our tracks. In the morning you'll run an M3 compound, when it heats up mid day go to an M2, and when it cools off in the afternoon and the track is grooved up you run an M4. Just like in California most run the J Concepts stuff (I've been told) and run greens but when its really hot they put on the orange compound. We all want the most power and traction. Racing is racing and winning is winning. Power is nothing without control, and control comes from tires first, then setup. With these amazing motors you really notice a huge difference once you get it right. Thats why tire manufacturers put up charts with temperature ratings that tell what type of tire to run based on temps. Some tracks hold more heat than others. When it's 85 here the track temp can be as much as 110.
Cptn Cartwheel is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 03:44 PM
  #773  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

is it ok to run 3's on the ten shock 401 4000KV motor with a RX8 in a TEN 4X4 ?Thanks
chucko is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 03:57 PM
  #774  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Any suggestions for gearing a 4600 in a SCRT10?
Vismund is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 08:10 PM
  #775  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (140)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,130
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chucko View Post
is it ok to run 3's on the ten shock 401 4000KV motor with a RX8 in a TEN 4X4 ?Thanks
the system can take it. i would just gear it really low, like 11T to start and watch temps.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 08:33 PM
  #776  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
A Losi SCTE/Tenshock combo routinely pulls more than 150 amps on 2s. Just sayin
Its a 780 burst amps and works perfect with any turn and any size motor.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 10:47 PM
  #777  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blitzrockey View Post
Its a 780 burst amps and works perfect with any turn and any size motor.
What's has a 780 burst amp rating? If you are referring to the castle MMP, I highly disagree with it working perfectly for any motor. It hardly works for anything on 2s as it's internal BEC is beyond pathetic

However, if you are talking about the RX8, then I agree, it works great with everything I've tried.
Ridley is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 11:39 PM
  #778  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
What's has a 780 burst amp rating? If you are referring to the castle MMP, I highly disagree with it working perfectly for any motor. It hardly works for anything on 2s as it's internal BEC is beyond pathetic

However, if you are talking about the RX8, then I agree, it works great with everything I've tried.

Talking about the hobbywing xerun 120a.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 11:47 PM
  #779  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blitzrockey View Post
Talking about the hobbywing xerun 120a.
Gotcha
Ridley is offline  
Old 09-02-2011, 06:18 AM
  #780  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Feint Motion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal IE
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

I ran this motor this past weekend in 110 degree weather. I've read some people frying the bearing with just a few runs. I added some bearing oil to the bearing every few heats and had zero issues. Thanks for the tips.
Feint Motion is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.