Engine Damage

Reply

Old 08-22-2004, 10:03 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Angry Engine Damage

please allow me to scream...

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

ok, im better. last wednesday when my rc10gt ran away on me and bent the chassis, i took a quick look and everything else seemed fine... until i decided to take the engine apart to clean it.

the engine was ceased TIGHT, it wouldnt budge. so i opened it up, and to my relief the piston arm was broken. so i figured what the hell eh, cant be more than a $15 dollar part.

so i pull the rest of the engine apart and remove some of the metal flakes in the crank case. but when i went to reassemble it i noticed part of the inside of the crank case was broken around where the little knob at the end of the crankshaft connects to the piston rod / pull starter

the piston and sleeve are fine, but it would still cause a problem wouldnt it?

id hate to buy a new engine if i just need a piston arm :\
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 08:25 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

It is done time for new
no1uno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 11:31 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Default

ah well. im just glad it was a $90 CVX rather than the trinity i almost bought!
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 02:47 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
RebelRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 102
Default

yea, good thing it wasn't the trinity.
RebelRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 04:42 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
Evan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
Default

can someone help? I was cranking my nitro evader and it was flooding everytime, so i took the air filter off and saw the servo was pulling thethrottle arm. I looked at it again and saw that the thottle arm is loose and is gettin pulled form the side not in a half circle pivot. Can somone help
Evan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 10:28 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Default

im not sure about duratrax engines, never had one. but im sure somewhere on the next is an exploded parts diagram (unless you drive like i do, they you need a diagram of the exploded parts... LOL! get it? ahem... i dont have to impress you) and there should be a nut of some sort to tighten the arm down.

hope that helps...
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 10:29 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Default

actually... dont the evaders use O.S. engines? i could be wrong.. but if they do most OS car engines have a brass nut around the LSN (in the center of the throttle arm) which holds the arm on. maybe it just came loose....
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 03:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
 
Evan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
Default

thanks id tried the arm and works better than when i got it , but now it wont crank; its gettin gas, the glow plug is heating properly, and it has compression but i just keep pullin and and it wont crank
P.S. it is an O.S. .18
Evan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 05:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Default

id say download the manual and reset the carb. then tune it to your liking. im assuming that you made sure everything was tight and you broke the engine down and cleaned it out good. if you did that, and youre sure its not a problem with your glow plug or glow stick, its probably just way out of whack. or dead.

how old is the engine? how much use does it have on it?
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 06:32 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Evan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 95
Default

I bought the truck in July and its had about 20 tanks (7 for break in) so its new! but i think i solved the prob. i think its a very very small compression leak under the glow plug. (i put a stage 2 head on, so the gasket has been taken off and on a lot)
Evan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 06:56 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 452
Default

yeah a worn gasket will definitely do it!
beetlebz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service