R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2004, 11:20 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

It is a very well constructed car. The only thing that bugged me was the slipper setup, but that was easy to fix and Jason was very helpful. I raced my car this weekend on a temporary track at the fair grounds. It was an "old school" track since it has a lot of loose dirt and at times mud. The car did well, but I need to find a better rough track setup before I try that type of track again. I ran the car with a lehner basic 4200 brushless controlled by a schulze u-force 75 controller. Had a ton of power and more top end than I could use. I will attempt to attach some pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg undertray and electronics.jpg (97.0 KB, 133 views)
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 11:21 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

here is the other pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg whole car.jpg (95.3 KB, 140 views)
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 03:33 PM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kufman
It is a very well constructed car. The only thing that bugged me was the slipper setup, but that was easy to fix and Jason was very helpful. I raced my car this weekend on a temporary track at the fair grounds. It was an "old school" track since it has a lot of loose dirt and at times mud. The car did well, but I need to find a better rough track setup before I try that type of track again. I ran the car with a lehner basic 4200 brushless controlled by a schulze u-force 75 controller. Had a ton of power and more top end than I could use. I will attempt to attach some pics.
What is up with the slipper? Hard to setup or you actually have to mod it?

G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 03:59 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

peice of cake, slip a wrench on the nut and rotate both rear wheels to make an adjustment. If your diff is adjusted to kit specs it shouldn't munch when making the adjustment.
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2004, 04:19 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The main problem I had with the slipper was the wobbling. I fixed the problem by using a longer pin behind the slipper. The adjustment nut on my slipper is hard enough to adjust that doing the wrench and rear tire trick doesn't work, the rear diff slips before the nut will turn. I have since removed the slipper and I use a standard TC3 spur gear holder.
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 03:17 PM   #21
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kufman
The main problem I had with the slipper was the wobbling. I fixed the problem by using a longer pin behind the slipper. The adjustment nut on my slipper is hard enough to adjust that doing the wrench and rear tire trick doesn't work, the rear diff slips before the nut will turn. I have since removed the slipper and I use a standard TC3 spur gear holder.
I had the same trouble with my slipper plates. a quick email to jconcepts was all it took to get that fixed. I've not yet run my BJ4, so I cannot comment on the slipper adjustment thing.

kufman, have you run the car without the slipper yet? If you have, have you had any trouble with stripped bevel gears?
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 03:56 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yes I have run my BJ4 on an offroad course and haven't had any trouble with stripped gears. It was raced for 3 rounds of racing on a large course with large jumps. I ran the brushless setup that I posted pics of above. Most likely the diffs will slip before the gears let go. The picture that shows the inside of the car actually shows the non-slipper setup. I kept the spring and nut in order to press the TC3 gear adapter towards the pin. Didn't feel like trying to create an E-clip slot on the shaft.
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net