R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 08-16-2004, 11:07 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Is this a good Stadium Truck for Beginner?

My 12 year old son wants an R/C stadium truck very badly. My only experience has been with nitros, so I am new to electrics and I'm trying to help him choose the best fit for him. We decided an electric would be good for his first truck, and also thought a kit would be good since I can help him and it will be a great learning experience for him, and he will get comfortable working with and repairing his truck. He does not intend to do any racing at the local track...just backyard blasting around with his uncle, grandfather, friends, and me on a dirt track we built. Money spent needs to be kept as low as reasonable since he is using money he has saved as well as birthday/Christmas money from others. I already have a good charger, so we are set there. Questions:

1) We have been looking at an RC10T3 which seems to be good quality and reasonably priced. Would this be a good choice?

2) If we go with the RC10T3, I think we've narrowed it down to the "Basic Truck Kit" or the "Team Kit". From what I can tell, it looks like the Team Kit has the advantage of bearings instead of bushings, PTFE coated shocks instead of gold shocks (whatever that is), and MIP CVD's instead of dogbone rear axles. He would like to go with the Basic kit since a motor is included and he can keep the initial cost down by upgrading components later. Is that wise, or is it worth it to go more expensive now?

3) Can anyone recommend a speed control, battery pack, and pinion gear that would be a good fit?

4) Any other truck recommendations we should look at?

Thanks for any help!
Cuppajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 11:37 AM   #2
Tech Adept

Send a message via AIM to AE Basher Send a message via Yahoo to AE Basher