Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 06-24-2011, 05:20 PM
  #12691  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jboquire View Post
As a full size car racer, then you should know that performance components are meant for racing, my full size race engines go back to the shop after every race, if I get 510 miles on an engine built for a 500 mile race, I'm happy camper, and I apply the same rule for R/C cars, rebuild all silicone filled diffs after every race weekend (6 packs) gives me that peace of mind. Now for bashing around the backyard, grease would probably be OK.
I just wouldn't trade the performance advantages of silicon diff fluid for three sets of longer lasting diff gears.

jb

All very true and I agree exept for the whole point to my first post" Which
was to help out the guys with the SCTE's because of the weak diffs Losi
seems to not beable to fix at this time. Any info. that allows Losi customers
to have their SCTE diffs last longer is a good thing IMO"

As for the silicone diff fluid being needed to race competitive at major races.
Kyle (the Iceman) Johnson is putting the smack down at every major race
he has raced at with a BONE STOCK SCTE no light weight parts all box
stock including diff grease. The only thing he changes is springs & tires he
is the only Team Losi driver I know of racing a bone stock SCTE and winning
with it.
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:21 PM
  #12692  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
while you're there and if you want to tinker with it dremel the front spindles and hub carriers for some holy crap steering i would say i got quiet a bit more steering throw from cutting the stops on the spindles/hubs. just see where they hit when you lock then side to side and take a little bit at a time. I have my jr/hitec aluminum servo arm all the way to the last 4th outter hole.
As a new guy...better hold off on that. I can't handle too much right now. I'm still trying to grasp it all....LOL
larlev is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:23 PM
  #12693  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kerby View Post
Are you serious? 6packs. Man that just takes the fun out of racing. I ran mine for 2 months(weekly racing) and the diff components are still is like new. If I had the tear this thing down after 6 packs I'd say it's not worth it.

LOL"
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:06 PM
  #12694  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
liftedcj7on44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Got my truck today. Still in the process of setting it all up.

I ended up getting the 1410 4 pole castle motor as a temporary motor.

I got the wrong pinions, What pinion Do I need to be able to run this motor on this truck? Since the motor is 1/8" I am assuming I will have to run a Mod pinion?

Anyway here she is.

liftedcj7on44s is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:12 PM
  #12695  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
omenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gresham Or
Posts: 940
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Castle motors have a 1/8 shaft so to use mod 1 pinions with 5mm bore you will need a reducer. ofna and robinson racing make them. ofna also makes mod1 1/8 bore up to 16t.
omenwolf is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:13 PM
  #12696  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
liftedcj7on44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omenwolf View Post
Castle motors have a 1/8 shaft so to use mod 1 pinions with 5mm bore you will need a reducer. ofna and robinson racing make them. ofna also makes mod1 1/8 bore up to 16t.

I just read that and I bet this is something that My LHS wont stock. Also since the pinion itself is a lot smaller I am assuming that I will have to change out the spur gear also?
liftedcj7on44s is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:39 PM
  #12697  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by liftedcj7on44s View Post
I just read that and I bet this is something that My LHS wont stock. Also since the pinion itself is a lot smaller I am assuming that I will have to change out the spur gear also?
no, the point of buying a mod 1 pinion is to match the spur.

you need either this
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXZAG6&P=7

or this
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXZAV7&P=7
godofcable is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:42 PM
  #12698  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by liftedcj7on44s View Post
Got my truck today. Still in the process of setting it all up.

I ended up getting the 1410 4 pole castle motor as a temporary motor.

I got the wrong pinions, What pinion Do I need to be able to run this motor on this truck? Since the motor is 1/8" I am assuming I will have to run a Mod pinion?

Anyway here she is.
Keep that motor...why temporary?
larlev is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:42 PM
  #12699  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omenwolf View Post
Castle motors have a 1/8 shaft so to use mod 1 pinions with 5mm bore you will need a reducer. ofna and robinson racing make them. ofna also makes mod1 1/8 bore up to 16t.
now they are making the 1410 motor with a 5mm shaft. its part of the new SCT race pro system
godofcable is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:53 PM
  #12700  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Jstall7543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Down Town Olympia
Posts: 3,106
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I looked on castles website but couldn't find a 5mm version. That would be cool I guess.
Jstall7543 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:57 PM
  #12701  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jstall7543 View Post
I looked on castles website but couldn't find a 5mm version. That would be cool I guess.
i cant find it online either. but here's castle ad in the august edition of rc car action

godofcable is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:05 PM
  #12702  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Jstall7543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Down Town Olympia
Posts: 3,106
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How much steering do you need? Seems like there is plenty as is. I've been running sauced gold v2 barcodes and the steering is insane on and off power! Tried out the silver springs on the rear and carbon towers and steering link today and it was great! Just ordered a Spektrum s6040 titanium gear servo today. ([email protected]@6v $80 shipped) Currently running a Jr z8800 and can't turn when the trucks on it side. It's [email protected] Hellas fast and works great except for low torque.
Jstall7543 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:08 PM
  #12703  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
liftedcj7on44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

All Painted up next to the old 2wd SC10.


First impression, It is a pretty heavy truck. It seems well built and I did not strip any screw heads while installing my servo and radio gear.

I hope the LHS can set me up with what I need for the pinion tomorrow as i cant wait to try this truck out. It is so nice I am almost scared to drive it, lol.




Sorry for the crappy cell pic, will get a good one tomorrow during the day.
liftedcj7on44s is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:09 PM
  #12704  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kerby View Post
Are you serious? 6packs. Man that just takes the fun out of racing. I ran mine for 2 months(weekly racing) and the diff components are still is like new. If I had the tear this thing down after 6 packs I'd say it's not worth it.
I'm with you, I didn't rebuild my diff's until I put the lightend outdrives in.. after months of racing. Specifically, I opened them from new installed chrispins, repacked the front and center diff's w/ the grease, then used 2k in the rear. When I got the backordered outdrives in, I added a touch of 3k in each left the grease and refreshed the 2k in the rear. When I rebuild in a few weeks I will go back to straight up grease front and center (thanks to jmc23) and 2k in the rear.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:16 PM
  #12705  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
liftedcj7on44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Keep that motor...why temporary?
We will see how it does, I just do not want to have to always worry about a hot running motor.


This is my first big R/C purchase in a long time. Most of the time I buy Used stuff to try and save some money but this time I decided I wanted a new truck and all new radio gear.

I got everything I needed for the truck which was the truck itself, the steering servo, the castle setup and a new radio/receiver at one time today.
liftedcj7on44s is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.