Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 06-01-2011, 11:44 AM
  #10906  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

Those of you running the OFNA pins and gears:

Are the pins wearing the case at all? I'm thinking that instead of an aluminum block we could just use a turned steel ring at each end of the pin. It wouldn't have as much surface area to ride on the case as the blocks, but it should keep the blocks from wearing out.
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:52 AM
  #10907  
Tech Apprentice
 
stompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
First off never use punch control, you want instant punch to self adjust while jumping.. the worst thing you could do is that iMO.

Timing to 0 or absolute min, startup slowest etc... everything at zero. I run a 16t on a large outdoor track, no need for more just causes heat iMO. Can go lower depending on size of track med 14, small 12.

Get your truck lightened... every ounce you drop you will like it more... try to get as near 6.2 RTR as you can. See mine and others ideas to trim weight. One of the bigger impacts is w/ the battery tray and rx box and they are free :P

I run 2k rear, mostly grease in the center and front? I'd guess closer to 3k than 5k, and I run aka enduro super softs for tires.. very smooth predictable power band imo.
Thank you, info was very helpful.
stompy is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:53 AM
  #10908  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Cackswayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin Tx.
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
Those of you running the OFNA pins and gears:

Are the pins wearing the case at all? I'm thinking that instead of an aluminum block we could just use a turned steel ring at each end of the pin. It wouldn't have as much surface area to ride on the case as the blocks, but it should keep the blocks from wearing out.
Round peg in a square hole... Might wear the case but I doubt it... You should make them out of brass
Cackswayn is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 12:20 PM
  #10909  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (215)
 
racerx1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,923
Trader Rating: 215 (100%+)
Default

chris would you be able to make a steal plate where the aluminum blocks go?
making a small steal block might be hard do to the size but a plate 4mm x 14mm x 2mm with the 3mm hole for the pin where it needs to be might be
racerx1920 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 12:45 PM
  #10910  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Cackswayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin Tx.
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racerx1920 View Post
chris would you be able to make a steal plate where the aluminum blocks go?
making a small steal block might be hard do to the size but a plate 4mm x 14mm x 2mm with the 3mm hole for the pin where it needs to be might be
Cost to machine that little block would be more then what most people would pay. If it was round it would be much easier to make.
Cackswayn is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:06 PM
  #10911  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
SCTRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
I'll be running supersoft enduros there for the pro series race.

I think they have a 2s limit for sct.
Dam no one has them in stock!!! Tower has them discontinued, and Amain is back ordered.
SCTRacerX is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:08 PM
  #10912  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racerx1920 View Post
how many shims do i need to get the smaller gears to mess right? i read a few pots back that someone pit 2 Kyosho shims. is this what you had to do also?
i was not able to get those washers since they are BO everywhere that i have checked. i used some shims out of an ofna chassis i have laying around. wish i could help ya out more. try different shims and play with it a little till you like how they feel
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:10 PM
  #10913  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
SCTRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Well RCplanet has them with free shipping but I can't get them by the weekend, think Hurricane hobbies goes through tower and amain so they can't get them either, what's the next best?? Do you think they will have any in the mobile hobby shop at the track??
SCTRacerX is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:10 PM
  #10914  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
Those of you running the OFNA pins and gears:

Are the pins wearing the case at all? I'm thinking that instead of an aluminum block we could just use a turned steel ring at each end of the pin. It wouldn't have as much surface area to ride on the case as the blocks, but it should keep the blocks from wearing out.
i have not opened up my diffs yet to look for any wear...ill let you know what they look like after this weekend
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:37 PM
  #10915  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,307
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SCTRacerX View Post
Dam no one has them in stock!!! Tower has them discontinued, and Amain is back ordered.
Yep got my aka lineup as well ready....i ordered mine few weeks ago when amain had stock!!!
nitro0619 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:37 PM
  #10916  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Ripped's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 275
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stompy View Post
I ran my SCTE this weekend for the 1st time with the mmp/3800 combo. Wow very fast. Can someone tell me or post their esc settings? I ran 15-17 tooth pinions after 10 run motor hot but not over heating. It seemed to me that the power was a little inconsistent and jumpy, if that makes sense. I also have the Novak sct combo which is not as fast but much smoother. I know that sensored is smoother, but I'd there a way to make the Castle smooth too by adjusting setting via Castle link??

FYI when running MMP with a spectrum receiver you need to turn up bec voltage to 6v+ otherwise you cam calibrate esc. Figured that out after trying for 2 hours yo get it yo work.
Having the same issue here..
Ripped is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:54 PM
  #10917  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,044
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default SCTE

So who's got a hot setup for a large outdoor 1/8 track, and one for a small outdoor 1/10 track? Thanks for any resources!

T
mxtoeknee is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:05 PM
  #10918  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sonora, California
Posts: 1,324
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

To the guys waiting for pins from Horizon to show up, maybe you were put in for the wrong item as I thought I was on the list for them but today out of the blue, UPS dropped off a package from HH and it was a diff gear set. Even better cause I got the chrispins but needed some gears! I called a week after the release of the truck and talked to Horizon C.S., not Losi.
b121774 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:13 PM
  #10919  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stompy View Post
I ran my SCTE this weekend for the 1st time with the mmp/3800 combo. Wow very fast. Can someone tell me or post their esc settings? I ran 15-17 tooth pinions after 10 run motor hot but not over heating. It seemed to me that the power was a little inconsistent and jumpy, if that makes sense. I also have the Novak sct combo which is not as fast but much smoother. I know that sensored is smoother, but I'd there a way to make the Castle smooth too by adjusting setting via Castle link??

FYI when running MMP with a spectrum receiver you need to turn up bec voltage to 6v+ otherwise you cam calibrate esc. Figured that out after trying for 2 hours yo get it yo work.
I didn't have to turn the 2 I have done up at all. Did it at 5.5v...wonder why the difference? MMP/spektrum receiver
larlev is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:27 PM
  #10920  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Teambcw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

well I have to sell it so here it goes.....

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...te-extras.html
Teambcw is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.