Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 12:00 PM
  #10666  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

What's a good ride height for high bite track
kerby is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:03 PM
  #10667  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
R.Bryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Discovery Bay CA
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wcrase101 View Post
no mods on mine, just don't over tighen it.
Yep. Same here. Screwed right on
R.Bryant is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:28 PM
  #10668  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stompy View Post
I am new to electric. Whats the best way to set the mesh?
Don't use the paper method....it has been written about a lot. Wrong way of doing it. Just set it by eye, not too tight and not too loose. I set it so that the pinion is just out from the spur...so that it's not bottoming out in the grooves. You can spin the spur and feel when it is too tight.

I guess I put it tight and then back out just a tad. The gears today have a bulit in tolerance so that they won't completely bind. That is why the "old" paper method is wrong and shouldn't be used. I'm getting my info from numerous articles by manufs. and experienced racers.

Everyone I know that has experience does the same thing.
larlev is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:40 PM
  #10669  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Don't use the paper method....it has been written about a lot. Wrong way of doing it. Just set it by eye, not too tight and not too loose. I set it so that the pinion is just out from the spur...so that it's not bottoming out in the grooves. You can spin the spur and feel when it is too tight.

I guess I put it tight and then back out just a tad. The gears today have a bulit in tolerance so that they won't completely bind. That is why the "old" paper method is wrong and shouldn't be used. I'm getting my info from numerous articles by manufs. and experienced racers.

Everyone I know that has experience does the same thing.

Well said" 100% correct info.
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 01:22 PM
  #10670  
Tech Apprentice
 
stompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
Default

[QUOTE=larlev;9178204]Don't use the paper method....it has been written about a lot. Wrong way of doing it. Just set it by eye, not too tight and not too loose. I set it so that the pinion is just out from the spur...so that it's not bottoming out in the grooves. You can spin the spur and feel when it is too tight.

I guess I put it tight and then back out just a tad. The gears today have a bulit in tolerance so that they won't completely bind. That is why the "old" paper method is wrong and shouldn't be used. I'm getting my info from numerous articles by manufs. and experienced racers.

Everyone I know that has experience does the same thing.[/QUOT


Thank you!! Very helpful.
stompy is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 01:40 PM
  #10671  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 616
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Don't use the paper method....it has been written about a lot. Wrong way of doing it. Just set it by eye, not too tight and not too loose. I set it so that the pinion is just out from the spur...so that it's not bottoming out in the grooves. You can spin the spur and feel when it is too tight.

I guess I put it tight and then back out just a tad. The gears today have a bulit in tolerance so that they won't completely bind. That is why the "old" paper method is wrong and shouldn't be used. I'm getting my info from numerous articles by manufs. and experienced racers.

Everyone I know that has experience does the same thing.
When using MOD 1 pitch just set it by look/feel. It's pretty easy to do it that way with MOD 1 pitch as it's easy to look at the teeth.

Though with a truck that uses 48 pitch just use the paper method, it's honestly the fastest and easiest when your new. It works and still works.
twigman08 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 02:17 PM
  #10672  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
shadowracer24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: lakeland fla.
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Need some serious help here guys, run on a hard clay track that dusts up pretty bad during the run and I just can not seem to come up with a good tire combo to keep this thing hooked up. have tried subcultures. double dees, snipers which seem to be the better but wear out quick. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
shadowracer24 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 02:35 PM
  #10673  
Tech Master
iTrader: (103)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LaVergne, TN
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Try Cityblocks or maybe Calibers.
jrherald420 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:03 PM
  #10674  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by shadowracer24 View Post
Need some serious help here guys, run on a hard clay track that dusts up pretty bad during the run and I just can not seem to come up with a good tire combo to keep this thing hooked up. have tried subcultures. double dees, snipers which seem to be the better but wear out quick. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
AKA gridirons SS, or enduro SS. You want something that can get through the dust yet bend and grab the hard surface. The AKA's wear fantastic and have a good rubber compound that sticks.
larlev is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:04 PM
  #10675  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kerby View Post
What's a good ride height for high bite track
Stock setting works fine.
30mm front and 29mm rear..if I remember correctly
larlev is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:08 PM
  #10676  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
retsoorkcuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: barstow, ca
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default savox servo horn

I'm running a savox sc1256tg servo and am trying to find a aluminum horn I bought a gh racing horn and it doesnt fit so does anyone have an actual part# for any brand of aluminum servo horn just want one that fits . thanks
retsoorkcuf is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:27 PM
  #10677  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Stock setting works fine.
30mm front and 29mm rear..if I remember correctly


backwards if anything.....you wouldn't want to run your front end Higher than the rear.
Integra is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:55 PM
  #10678  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 343
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by retsoorkcuf View Post
I'm running a savox sc1256tg servo and am trying to find a aluminum horn I bought a gh racing horn and it doesnt fit so does anyone have an actual part# for any brand of aluminum servo horn just want one that fits . thanks
If memory serves me they are the same spline count as a futaba servo.
mavrick0 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:59 PM
  #10679  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ScottKelly911 View Post
For those of you running the SNR CF Ackerman Bar, I remember you have to do some mod to it to work. But I can't remember what it is and what the parts are for it. Can someone post it and the part #'s to make it work. I'm getting one today, along with the CF Center Diff Top Plate and the CF Hinge Pin covers. Thanks!
where are you getting the CF hinge pin covers from?
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 04:09 PM
  #10680  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
I see snr has higher shock towers by 9mm....whats the advantage to using a higher tower?
i would also like to hear some feedback on this
10sctrel0v3r is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.