Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 09:44 PM
  #9181  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
DBL15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,171
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

keep your RX8

just use the 1410

should be no need to change your ESC
DBL15 is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 10:36 PM
  #9182  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

should the sway bar move freely side to side or be snugged down so it's locked in?
larlev is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 10:59 PM
  #9183  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
No, but they help get rid of stock
Lmao, good point!
SaladFork is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 11:18 PM
  #9184  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
You can't fix stupid...
I have that sign in my MC shop and point it out to customers all the
time...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 11:25 PM
  #9185  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 407
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
yeh i was not sure either , as i have read that MMP have trouble with some etc , just wanted to make sure what people were using are causing no issues at all thats all

i have hitec on 1 of my cars and i like them i have futuba as well and like them and i think i even have savox on another and like them as well

was just wondering what people are using and if any troubles i am guessing a 12kg tourque rate would be plenty?

I'm using the 1257 servo and MMP esc w/a spektrum sr300 rx.. I was having glitching issues and power brownouts untill I added a glitch buster. I just recently switched to airtronics equipment and with their Rx there is ABSOLUTELY NO GLITCHING PROBLEMS and I don't even need the glitch buster now.

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
I did need a spektrum cap....but it fixed the cutting out and hasn't done it since. No BEC installed
what Rx are you using???


Originally Posted by flysullivan View Post
Has anyone been running the castle 1415 550 4-pole in this truck? Seems like it would be better than the 1410. Advantages or disadvantages between them? i have an rx8 sc4x 4.5 but i burned it up on 2s in the 90+ weather. I was thinking of trying the castle system but im not sure if i really need the mmp. I also have considered going with the 6.5 Tekin or even the monster horsepower motor. Any thoughts?
The MMP SCT system is what I'm running currently in my SCTE and there are several others using the same on here. I personally love this system and have had 0 issues with it so far. The only thing to remember is you are limited to 20T as the biggest pinion you can run with the stock motor mount (it needs atleast a 20T or bigger to run properly on 2s)
From what I've seen the "lil" 1410 is just as stout as it's bigger brother and you have a better pinion selection with the stock mount. I'm gonna get one soon and see for myself.
RAPER is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 12:05 AM
  #9186  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Rage playing with the 1415 on 3S 18T pinion. Funny cause the same gearing on 2S the 1410 is .9mph slower than it's big brother on 3S with the same gearing.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 12:27 AM
  #9187  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
T-BirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norwood, OH...and CCRCR and The OhioRCFactory
Posts: 2,974
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
should the sway bar move freely side to side or be snugged down so it's locked in?
If it's snugged down, it won't have a chance to work properly.

In a 1:1 car, the swaybar is allowed to move back and forth (left and right) some in the bushings. If you tighten it down to the point that it doesn't move around, all you're doing is adding more spring rate to the corners and you're not getting the actual swaybar effect.

At least this is the way ThunderbirdJunkie has always done it on his RCs...don't have a 4w SCT yet, but if somebody else has some input, feel free
T-BirdJunkie is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:13 AM
  #9188  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
yeh thats why i am asking as i dont think the Rx8 has any problems with servo's like the MMP does but being in australia and having to bring in parts i would like to get it all in 1 order and be done with it

and metal servo horns is everyone using them as well or just what comes with the servo in box
I have the RX8 and I don't have any problems. I am using a metal servo horn for my Futaba servo.
jurquhart is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:33 AM
  #9189  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
ok guys i have read and reread the 1st post no information on what everyone is useing on servo's ? what to place my order for motor and esc and servo but need advices on

1/10-scale Steering Servo

whats working for everyone

package is a RX8 esc and 1410 motor if that matters
Futaba BLS451 being used here
jurquhart is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:35 AM
  #9190  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
yeh i was not sure either , as i have read that MMP have trouble with some etc , just wanted to make sure what people were using are causing no issues at all thats all

i have hitec on 1 of my cars and i like them i have futuba as well and like them and i think i even have savox on another and like them as well

was just wondering what people are using and if any troubles i am guessing a 12kg tourque rate would be plenty?
Sometimes there is trouble I noticed with a Savox servo. The Novak glitch buster fixed it though
jurquhart is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 06:47 AM
  #9191  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
kjohnsiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: auburn, wa
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Really liking the Jr 9100. It is quick and strong too. Get a metal horn too.

Last edited by kjohnsiii; 05-11-2011 at 07:04 AM.
kjohnsiii is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:14 AM
  #9192  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (358)
 
flat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,361
Trader Rating: 358 (100%+)
Default

what size batteries will the tray in the scte fit? will a 7 cell nimh flat pack fit in there?
flat6 is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:24 AM
  #9193  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Pics of the new STRC parts for the SCTE !





BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:42 AM
  #9194  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
should the sway bar move freely side to side or be snugged down so it's locked in?
It should be able to move freely, side to side. If it is snugged down, they overtightened it at the factory.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 08:01 AM
  #9195  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Im sure youve seen some of the photos out there of the teams trucks. There are a few different versions of lightened chassis plates that we are testing and we are getting very close. Carbon fiber flexes way different and its not something we really enjoyed running. We have tried them on the 8th scale and other vehicles and the car feels way too sprung. Just what we have noticed really.

Why is it that Mike and Adam pretty Consistently run an E buggy with one then ?


Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
yeh thats why i am asking as i dont think the Rx8 has any problems with servo's like the MMP does but being in australia and having to bring in parts i would like to get it all in 1 order and be done with it

and metal servo horns is everyone using them as well or just what comes with the servo in box

No servo issues What so ever on the Rx8 and I would highly recommend an Aluminum horn for added insurance.
Integra is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.