Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 04:23 PM
  #886  
Tech Adept
 
jdegraff57z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 109
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
The on/off button (not a switch) has the plugin for the Pro Gauge so you never have to unplug your receiver wire to plug in the ESC and edit it. I love this feature.
That IS a cool feature...Where is this ESC available, or is it a proto? I didn't see the R on Viper's site, nor anywhere to order that from. Checked AMain and they only have the motors.
jdegraff57z is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:31 PM
  #887  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdegraff57z View Post
That IS a cool feature...Where is this ESC available, or is it a proto? I didn't see the R on Viper's site, nor anywhere to order that from. Checked AMain and they only have the motors.
They are not out yet, due out very soon! You can call Weylin at Viper he will give you more info when they will be officially released.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:38 PM
  #888  
Tech Regular
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Carbondale, Colorado
Posts: 281
Default

Castle makes a connector cable that does relatively the same thing for all the current castle controllers.
http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...k_connect.html
Just an FYI for those that find it easier not to unplug their controller.
DrKnow65 is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:43 PM
  #889  
Tech Adept
 
jdegraff57z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 109
Default

Originally Posted by DrKnow65 View Post
Castle makes a connector cable that does relatively the same thing for all the current castle controllers.
http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...k_connect.html
Just an FYI for those that find it easier not to unplug their controller.
I've got one arriving today or tomorrow for the SCT combo in my XXX-SCT, 'cause un-plugging is a pain in the arse I like how clean the Viper install would be with the plug-in point already built into the system. Might try one out down the road when I can afford my next R/C vehicle
jdegraff57z is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:12 PM
  #890  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

What should I do with this thing?

SaladFork is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:43 PM
  #891  
Tech Regular
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Carbondale, Colorado
Posts: 281
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
What should I do with this thing?
Wheelies
DrKnow65 is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:50 PM
  #892  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Damn I guess lol, better wait for the updated diff pins before I throw this in.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 09:17 PM
  #893  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: athens,al
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DrKnow65 View Post
Castle makes a connector cable that does relatively the same thing for all the current castle controllers.
http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...k_connect.html
Just an FYI for those that find it easier not to unplug their controller.
i cant get that link to work bc of my pop up software...whats the name of the connector
skyler hays is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 09:19 PM
  #894  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skyler hays View Post
i cant get that link to work bc of my pop up software...whats the name of the connector
Castle Link Quick Connect
SaladFork is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:44 AM
  #895  
Tech Adept
 
DBARB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, MI
Posts: 175
Default

Ok I have a question. I am looking for some new batteries for this truck and I was wondering how much of a difference would be between a 2s 40c 5000mah and a 2s 60c 5600mah? I will be running a MMP and a Novak Ballistic 4.5 550.
Thanks
DBARB is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:30 AM
  #896  
Tech Regular
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Carbondale, Colorado
Posts: 281
Default

Originally Posted by DBARB View Post
Ok I have a question. I am looking for some new batteries for this truck and I was wondering how much of a difference would be between a 2s 40c 5000mah and a 2s 60c 5600mah? I will be running a MMP and a Novak Ballistic 4.5 550.
Thanks
Depending on the load your system see's you might get a bit more punch out of the 5600 IF the packs perform to their spec's
(I'm always suspicious of overrated stuff when you get above 40C constant).

However I don't imagine that combo is pulling more than 200amps so even the 40C 5000mah bat will put out a constant 200amps IF it's rated correctly.
I would imagine there is a significant weight difference in the 2 packs.
I am starting to always lean towards the lightest battery that will give me the run time and performance I want.

Also I find the "burst" rating a better indicator of the pack's ability to sustain voltage under hard acceleration.
DrKnow65 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:08 AM
  #897  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBARB View Post
Ok I have a question. I am looking for some new batteries for this truck and I was wondering how much of a difference would be between a 2s 40c 5000mah and a 2s 60c 5600mah? I will be running a MMP and a Novak Ballistic 4.5 550.
Thanks
Here is what I can tell you from direct experience. They will both work. However, you will be putting almost a full load on the 40c pack and thus it will wear out much faster. I would get the 60c pack...we make a 60c 6000 and it work fantastic in this truck.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:41 AM
  #898  
Tech Master
iTrader: (112)
 
dag32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,648
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
One of our guys is having good luck with the LRP SXX Version 2 esc, puts out a ton of power. Just an FYI. Looking forward to running my truck this weekend.
Ryan, what motor is he running? I have a SXX Ver. 2 laying around and I might put it to work.
dag32 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:58 AM
  #899  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Tekin 550 4.5 geared 15/40
Casper is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 09:16 AM
  #900  
Tech Adept
 
DBARB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, MI
Posts: 175
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Here is what I can tell you from direct experience. They will both work. However, you will be putting almost a full load on the 40c pack and thus it will wear out much faster. I would get the 60c pack...we make a 60c 6000 and it work fantastic in this truck.
Sweet thanks looks like I will be running this battery!
DBARB is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.